A Canadian Family

Genealogy, Family History & Vintage Postcards

HISTORICAL DOCUMENT: Angleharte & Huard – Marriage, 1826 – Links Restored

Who: Marie Angleharte, Alexandre Huard + Chappado

 Family Connection:  ancestor, Luce M-line  Where: Paspebiac, Quebec, Canada

___________________________________________________________________

This is the original entry for Jean Huard and Marie Angleharte‘s marriage from the Notre-Dame-de-la-Purification in Paspebiac. The basic information confirms my records which dates their marriage to January 30th, 1826, and confirms their parentage. Alexandre Huard was the son of Jean Huard and Madeleine Denys while Marie’s parents were Jean Baptiste Anglehardt and Anne Chappado. Marie had Amerindian – Native (metis) heritage.

Something new that I learned was that Marie’s father was already deceased on that date. Another useful fact regards Marie’s surname. In fact when her parents were married their names were registered as follows: Jean Baptiste Migkelharte and Anne Chappadeau. I knew that Anglehart/Migkelhart were the same family but I always wondered when Anglehart came into use. Now I know it was used at the beginning of the 1800s.

Those researching this lineage sure have their work cut out for them!

huardmarriage

______________________________________________________________

from A Canadian Family Database

Alexandre Huard and Marie Anglehart had a daughter Marie who married Paul Hypolite Blais in 1849 in Perce, Quebec. That Marie married Clement Desilva and their female descendants became part of our New Brunswick M-line.

____________________________

Surname var.

Angleharte, Migkelarte

Huard, Huart

Desilva, Dasilva, Dassylva

 

 Related Posts:

The Origins of Gaspe Fisherman Jean Baptiste Anglehart/Migkelhardt | Hessian mercenary? American Loyalist? | Dominique Ritchot

January 23, 2009 - Posted by | . | , , , ,

5 Comments »

  1. Greetings! I recently had my mtDNA done at Family Tree, the results were Haplogroup C. Amerindian. There was no doubt as I am a registered Indian. I hit a brick wall doing genealogy on my maternal line and with exact matches that I had with 3 others, 2 who had their genealogies done to the 1700’s, with Chapadeau coming up on the maternal side. Migkelhart was also Michaels, or Michels, which family names were on our Band list of Cambridge Indian Reserve #32, now known as Annapolis Valley First Nation, Cambridge, Kings County, Nova Scotia. Although I could not trace my mother’s lineage through the Michael’s, the Denny/Denis lineage also comes through my lineage somewhere. You are certainly right, that those researching this family line has their work cut out for them. Also, those with exact matches to me also have the David surname. Going back to Marie David. I like your vintage postcards. Especially the Micmac one! I will venture back soon. BTW, I am a 58 year old woman from NS.

    Ardy

    Comment by Ardy Born With 3 Thumbs | June 14, 2009 | Reply

  2. That’s really fascinating information, Ardy. I’m pleased to meet you.
    when you say that “Migkelhart was also Michaels, or Michels. which family names were on our Band list of Cambridge Indian Reserve” do you mean that there is confirmation that descendants of Migkelhart moved to Nova Scotia’s Annapolis Valley? Or are you just thinking that the N.S. Michael/Michels MIGHT be Migkelharts?
    Thank you for for your comments,
    Evelyn Theriault
    a 55 year old woman from Montreal, Quenec

    Comment by evelynyvonnetheriault | June 16, 2009 | Reply

  3. Hi,
    My gr-grandmother was RoseAnne Huard dau. of Jacques and
    Esther Albert.
    She married Jean Denis son of Gregoire and Natalie Albert.
    Their daughter Anatholie (Natalie) married Andre LeBrasseur son of Theodore and Josephine Denis.
    All were bn. in Paspebiac.
    Most all people in Paspebiac actually married their cousins.
    I think I am my own cousin-LOL!
    All go back to Beaubassin Nova Scotia.
    I have done all the above genealogy back to France.
    Need any info?
    Have a nice day!
    Rose
    Worcester,MA.

    Comment by Rosemarie Benson | September 22, 2009 | Reply

    • Hi Rosemarie!
      Thanks for the comment. You have a lot of wonderful Acadian surnames!
      On the next weekend I will enjoy poring over your tree.
      I don’t actually have a lot of ancestors from Paspebiac but I do love the area.
      I’ll get in touch with you next week!
      Evelyn in Montreal

      Comment by evelynyvonnetheriault | September 22, 2009 | Reply

  4. The earliest birth record for a child of Anne Chapados and J-B Anglehart that I have found in the Quebec Parish Records (formerly visible at FamilySearch) was for Anne, born in 1788 at Paspebiac. Her name was written as
    “Anne Agrahat”. Her parents were listed as “Jean Baptiste Agrahat” and “Anne Chapadeau”. The 1792 birth of Jean-Baptiste is listed as “Jean Engleat”(accent over second “e”). From the records that I’ve been able to find, the phonetic used of angle heart appears almost immediately after the “Migkelharte” marriage record. Robert Engelhardt

    Comment by Robert Engelhardt | February 20, 2011 | Reply


Leave a Reply

