A Canadian Family

Genealogy, Family History & Vintage Postcards

Evelyn in Montreal: Lagace m. Thiboutot, 1798, Quebec

Reader Elizabeth (Beth) Paradis said: “I was wondering if you have any information on Andre Lagace who married Martha Thiboutot on 16 Oct 1798.”

I do have information in my database about this individual which I had not yet published on the blog because I had found him listed under multiple names (Lagace, Mignier Lagace and Lagace Mignier) and wasn’t sure where he fit in. I’ve taken a second look and confirmed that he he attaches to the Lagace/Mignier family tree as a grandchild of Joseph Marie Lagace/Mignier & Felicite Cahouet (Caouette) who were married on Augusy 16th, 1730 in Cap-St-Igance (see N.10 Mignier dit Lagace: The Next Generations (Part 2).

Charles Mignier/Lagace, son of Joseph Marie Lagace/Mignier & Felicite Cahouet married Madeleine Aube, daughter of Francois Aubert/Aube and Francoise Berube on 14 October 1771 in La Pocatiere (Kamouraska, Quebec)

Their son Andre Mignier/Lagace married Marie-Marthe Thiboutot, daughter of Jean Thiboutot and Marie Pelletier, on 16 October 1798 in St-Roch-des-Aulnaies (L’Islet, Chaudiere-Appalaches)

Another son Isaac Mignier/Lagace married Josephte Madore on 7 January 1817 in Riviere-Ouelle (Kamouraska, Quebec). Josephte was the daughter of Antoine Madore and Josphte Laboissonniere.

Note: I haven’t developed this line yet so this information is incomplete.

Related Posts:

Mignier dit Lagaces – French Canadians

Vintage Postcards of Quebec

November 14, 2009 - Posted by | . | , , ,

1 Comment »

  1. Evelyn. MY NAME IS PAUL LEGACE. MY FAMILY NAME SPELLED LAGACE BUT MYSELF I SPELL MY LAST NAME LEGACE. THIS IS BECAUSE MY FATHER TRIED TO CHANGE IT TO LAGACE AND I GOT CAUGHT IN THE CHANGE. MY FATHERS FATHER WAS AN INDIAN CHIEF. AS A SMALL CHILD OF 5 OR 6 I SAW THIS PAINTING OF MY GRANDFATHER.SINCE THAT TIME I CANNOT FIND THIS PICTURE. I DONT KNOW HOW OR WHERE TO LOOK. I WOULD APPRECIATE ANY HELP YOU CAN OFFER. THANKYOU PAUL LEGACE

    Comment by paul.lagace | November 7, 2011 | Reply


Leave a Reply

