A Canadian Family

Genealogy, Family History & Vintage Postcards

Miramichi (N.B.) Help Needed For British Family Historian | Morrow/Pallen

Dave is from England and he happened onto the Canadian Family Vintage Postcard Collection while looking for 19th century images of Miramichi, New Brunswick. He has family connections with a couple named Robert Morrow and Elizabeth Pallen who were married  – he believes – on August 18th, 1862.   This couple lived in Miramichi for awhile.

I’ve included some links to online resources below, but I’m hoping some New Brunswick/Miramichi/Northumberland  researchers might be able to help him still further. What Dave is looking for is:

1.   anyone with knowledge of Robert Morrow and Elizabeth Pallen

2.   historic pictures of 19th century Miramichi, N.B.

 

Resources

Provincial Archives of New Brunswick:  Historical Images of New Brunswick

Daniel F Johnson’s New Brunswick Newspaper Vital Statistics

Northumberland County GenWeb

 

Related Posts:

Vintage Postcards of New Brunswick

 

*   *   *   *   *

 

This just in from reader Wendy Hawksley of  New England Genealogy .

How interesting!  I wish I could help; my husband’s ancestor was married to a man who had a store in Newcastle and lost it in the Miramichi fire.  But, by the 1850′s, they were all in Maine.  Those are fabulous websites – I’ve learned quite a bit from the Newspaper Vital Statistics. I also recommend the New Brunswick First Families collection: http://www.nbgs.ca/firstfamilies.html. And then she added this note 

 “Elizabeth and Robert are on page 6″

http://www.nbgs.ca/firstfamilies/FAMILY-P-2006.pdf

 

Thank you Wendy – there’s nothing like a New England genealogist helping a British researcher with a query on a Quebec site, concerning a New Brunswick research problem!  Vive l’internet!

 

 

February 14, 2010 - Posted by | . | , ,

7 Comments »

  1. How interesting! I wish I could help; my husband’s ancestor was married to a man who had a store in Newcastle and lost it in the Miramichi fire. But, by the 1850′s, they were all in Maine.

    Those are fabulous websites – I’ve learned quite a bit from the Newspaper Vital Statistics.

    I also recommend the New Brunswick First Families collection:

    http://www.nbgs.ca/firstfamilies.html

    Comment by Wendy Hawksley | February 14, 2010 | Reply

  2. Elizabeth and Robert are on page 6:

    http://www.nbgs.ca/firstfamilies/FAMILY-P-2006.pdf

    Comment by Wendy Hawksley | February 14, 2010 | Reply

    • Dear Wendy Hawksley

      I have activated the posts , so I can receive replies ( hopefully ),
      First of all I want to Thank You for doing this and also sending me all that info ( sites ), I realy appreciate it.

      If I can return the favour by looking uo on Ancestory ancestors for you, please tell me.

      A little of my wifes family, the Canadian side is on her fathers side.

      Her great grandfather was Robert Morrow 1800 England – 1867 Liverpool Englandwho went to Miramichi Canada and was principal clerk to Joseph Cunard, , his brother John Morrow 1795 Eng – 1862 ( buried in St Pauls Church-yard Canada ) , his family are married into the Stairs and Duffus plus Families, in Canada.
      She knew little of her family on this side untill we started tracing, lots of history found, very interesting to read.
      Some-thing to pass onto the grand-children .
      I think its good to know your family history if possible.
      Me also, I knew very little of my tree, untill started tracing, it was never spoken of and I did not ask ( wish I did )
      There was a story going round, one of my gt uncles surname Rees(e) , went to Canada, got involved with the prohibition, talk of a gun-fight with police and gangsters ( supposed to be in newspapers ) got caught, d by Mounted Police, deported back here ?
      Tried to find facts, but such little info, hit a brick-wall.

      Thats genealogy a.

      Sorry if I am boring you, Best Wishes, Dave

      Comment by James | September 17, 2012 | Reply

      • Hello James,
        This is Evelyn (owner of this blog). I had published the original post following a query from you. I will let Wendy know of your comment!
        Evelyn

        Comment by Evelyn Yvonne Theriault | September 17, 2012 | Reply

  3. Dear All

    First of all, THANK YOU to who-ever posted my message on this site,

    Thank you for page 6, I have printed it off plus other info on home page.

    If there is any-body out there connected to the family, MORROW – STAIRS – DUFFUS – PALLEN .

    There is a large extended family tree lots of info, ready to share with you.

    THANK YOU AGAIN.

    Comment by James | September 16, 2012 | Reply

  4. I have found more info on the MORROW FAMILY , if any-one is interested , please contact me , dave.hagland2@gmail.com

    Comment by Dave | October 7, 2013 | Reply


Leave a Reply

