A Canadian Family

Genealogy, Family History & Vintage Postcards

A Dodier/Doyer In Oka

Message from Andre Robert Ives Downes -

My name is Andy Downes and I was born in Thetford Mines Que. in 1942 ,I was brought to Windsor in 1945 and have been here ever since. My older brother Walter whom is 72 now was also born there in 1943, as was my other brother Jean Guy in 1945.

My mother told me that I was born in OKA. I and my brothers were baptized at St.Alphonsus church. I have being doing research now for at least 25 yrs trying to find my grandmother Leda Dodier whom my mother said was native, My mother’s name Mathilda Irene Lessard. My mother said her brother used to hide in St,Regis when he shot a police sheriff, must take after him!

Answer -

I have not tied your direct line to Oka but I I have found a Dodier who was married to an Oka native and is buried there. I’m putting down information from your line and that of the other line,  in the hopes that someone will pick up on it.

Information 1  -  Your Dodier/Doyer Line

Your parents – Walter Downes (son of Walter Downes and Annie McGaughlin) and Irene Lessard (daughter of Ernest Lessard and Leda Dodier/Doyer) – were married in the parish of St-Alphonse (Thetford Mines, Megantic) on May 20th, 1939

Your maternal grandmother Leda Dodier/Doyer (daughter of Georges Dodier and Emelie Groleau) married Ernest Lessard (son of Jules Lessard and Lea Dodier) on February 26th, 1906 in St-Alphonse (Thetford, Megantic).

Leda’s parents – Georges Doyer (son of Georges Doyer and Helene Lessard) and Emelie Groleau (daughter of Joseph Gregoire Groleau and Rosalie Jacques) were married on February 3rd, 1874 in St.Victor Parish (Beauce).  Leda’s grandparents – Georges Doyer (son of Louis Dodier and Catherine Nadeau) and Helene Lessard (daughter of Jean Lessard and Marie Lessard) had been married on February 7th, 1842 in St-Joseph-de-Beauce. (see also http://records.ancestry.com/Georges_Dodier_Foster_Marion_Illinois_USA_records.ashx?pid=3564964&gss=seo)  Louis Dodier was the son of Etienne Dodier and Marie Josephte Mathieu.  His wife Catherine was the daughter of Etienne Nadeau and Marguerite Lambert/Champagne.I have listed these couples in case another researcher has these families in their files and can connect them to the Sherbrooke/Oka Dodiers.

Information 2 –  Dodier/Doyer Connection to Oka

I noticed one Dodier with a connection to Oka and that is Jeannette Dodier, daughter of Thomas Dodier and Delvina de l’Etoile. Jeannette married Fidele Kaneratiio Bernard on in 1944 at Notre-Dame-des-Sept-Douleurs in Verdun, Quebec.

Fidele’s parents were Joseph Bernard of Oka and Adeline Sirois. Joseph was the son of Bernard Atiatamenti and Melina Robillard while Adeline’s parents were Olivier Sirois and Marie-Dina Plante. They had been married in the Montreal parish of Ste-Clothilde on September 27th, 1915.

I was unable to find the marriage certificate of Jeannette’s parents, but I do know that the Dodier/L’Etoile couple had at least three children -

Edouard Leopold Dodier in 1921 (Magog, Stanstead)

Mariane Jeannette Dodier in 1925 (Sherbrooke)

Joseph Robert Raoul Dodier in 1926 (Sherbrooke)

Marianne Jeannette’s godparents were listed as her aunt and uncle Doria L’Etoile and Darriana Vallee. This is the couple Dorille L’Etoile (son of Israel L’etoile and Marie Moreau) and Dorianna Valle (daughter of Arthur Valle and Lucienne Roy) who were married in Sherbrooke in 1926.

July 30, 2011 - Posted by | . | , ,

3 Comments »

  1. hello.
    YOUR A DREAM COME TRUE
    MERCI

    Comment by Andre Downes | July 31, 2011 | Reply

    • You’re quite welcome.
      And I look forward to someone finding this link on the internet and contacting you with more information!
      Good luck – bonne chance!

      Comment by Evelyn Yvonne Theriault | July 31, 2011 | Reply

  2. someone else was looking for albert lessard with connections to dodier /lessard connections ,,I found Albert Lessard in family search.org Cauawagauna records on-line .parish records for oka and all the parishes,hope I;m right
    thanks again Evelyn,also saw the Theriault name also in maniwaki.

    Comment by Andre Downes | September 25, 2011 | Reply


Leave a Reply

