A Canadian Family

Natives, French Canadians, Acadians

A Canadian Family in the Census: 1911 Lagace – Doucet

The 1911 census shows a Joseph J. and Elizabeth Legacy who were living in Bathurst, Gloucester County, New Brunswick with their children Adelard, Amanda, Lorette, Arthur, Martina, Francis, Joseph, William and Mary. We know this couple as Joseph Lagace and Elizabeth Doucet and in our lineage, they are the 8th generation of Lagaces in Canada.

The census confirms what we already knew– that the Lagaces were Catholic, French-speaking New Brunswickers living in a rural area near Bathurst, but I’ve also learned that they understood two languages (French and English) and that they could read and write.

//acanadianfamily.wordpress.com/)

A Canadian Family Vintage Postcard Collection

Something else we knew was that Joseph was working as a labourer at the Bathurst Lumber Mill and that he earned his living there for most of his adult working life. What we didn’t know, however, was that his son Adelard was already working there even though he was only 16 years old.

In addition a closer inspection of the document shows that Adelard and his son worked 60 hour work weeks. It’s hard to imagine doing such hard work for that many hours per week and I wonder whether the work was distributed over a five or six day work week? The census form doesn’t have that information but it does tell us that in 1910 Joseph worked only 20 weeks at the mill, whereas his son worked 32 weeks. I notice also that many of their neighbours worked twice as many weeks (in 1910) so it would be interesting to know whether Adelard and his son worked less hours by choice. You might wonder how much Adelard and his son earned for their labour. According to the census record their total earning for the year 1910 were: Joseph – $210 and Adelard – $192.

Source: 1911 Census of Canada (New Brunswick/Gloucester/1/Bathurst/page 8 )

Additional information from A Canadian Family Database

Joseph Lagace’s parents were Joseph Lagace and Tharsile Pitre while Elizabeth Doucet was the daughter of Alexander and Mary Doucet (Doucet may not be Mary’s maiden name). Joseph and Elizabeth were married in 1894 in Robertville, Gloucester, New Brunswick. They had the following children: Adelard, Francis,Martina, Arthur, Amanda, Lorette, Francis, Joseph, William and Mary Dulcinea. Their son Adelard (discussed above) went on to found our 9th generation of Lagaces (Adelard Lagace and Eveline Doucet). You can see our Lagace’s direct line in the LAGACE Page at the upper riht hand corner of this screen.

Source: RS141B7 Index to New Brunswick Marriages: 1847 – 1951. New Brunswick Provincial Archives.

Surname var.:

Lagace, Lagacey, Lagasse, Lagassey, Legace, Legacy

Doucet, Doucette

Related Posts:

Index: Mignier Lagaces | France – QC – NB

January 15, 2009 - Posted by | . | , ,

11 Comments »

  1. The Bridge with the arches- Sometimes called the Dragon of the Bay was built in the late thirties. What was the date of this postcard?

    Like

    Comment by Phil Thibodeau | January 20, 2009 | Reply

  2. I too am researching the Legacy family from New Brunswick.
    My great grandparents Mary and Joseph Legacy lived in Washburn Wisconsin. My grandmother Mary Elizabeth Legacy was born Wisconsin in 1899. Have also found Delphine/Josephine and Peter Legacy buried Coeur D’Alene Idaho St Thomas Catholic Cemetery.

    Like

    Comment by Vicki Cory Langridge | June 13, 2009 | Reply

  3. I am also doing research on my family and wonder if you would have more information as to the employees at the Bathurst mill. My grandfather’s name is (montefusco). He lived in the shacks provided by the mill when it was being built. I am not having too much luck with my research so far but if you have any inforamtion that would, I would appreciate it.

    Blanche

    Like

    Comment by McDonald | August 23, 2009 | Reply

    • Hello Blanche,
      First of all, my apologies. You commented about this back in June and I remember looking into it but I don’t see any responses to your query! Unfortunately, I don’t have access to employee names.
      Question: Are you sure his name is Montefusco – or is he from the town of Montefusco?
      If his name is Montefusco I don’t have any information for you at the moment – although when the 1921 Canada Census is published you should be able to find his name and the date when he arrived in Canada.
      I will be publishing more Bathurst Mill postcards this winter. When I do it may generate new readers who’ll see your message and step forward to help you.
      Evelyn

      Like

      Comment by evelynyvonnetheriault | August 23, 2009 | Reply

    • Hi Vicky,maybe is
      MONTEFUSCO, NICHOLAS
      married whith DOUCET, ANNA 1916 | 11 | 13
      in GLOUCESTER ,
      Look for this information… bye

      Like

      Comment by Sylvain Lagacé | January 7, 2010 | Reply

  4. I just came across your site again and note the comment made by Sylvain Lagace. Yes I am looking for information on Nicholas Montefusco and he married Anna Doucet in 1916. I would be grateful for any information you might have. Blanche

    Like

    Comment by McDonald | February 6, 2010 | Reply

  5. I was looking at my posting and noticed that I quoted Sylvain as the source of information (Nicholas Montefusco married Anna Doucet) – I was mistaken. The salutation says “Hi Vicky”. Can you possibly direct me to this person.

    Blanche

    Like

    Comment by McDonald | February 7, 2010 | Reply

    • Hi Evelyn – I was wondering if you have been able to get in contact with Vicky. I really would like to know if she has any information which could help me in my search.

      Blanche

      Like

      Comment by McDonald | February 13, 2010 | Reply

  6. I am from the Legace linage of Lawerance Legace and Alma Donnelly. Larry (Lawerance) Legace their son married Pearl Constance Lavigne, Veronica Lagace married Romeo Doucet. If any of these names or some family out there please do contact me we may be able to say information….

    Like

    Comment by Alma Daigle (Alexander) | April 18, 2010 | Reply

  7. I am Vicki Cory Langridge, this is my original message 2.I too am researching the Legacy family from New Brunswick.
    My great grandparents Mary and Joseph Legacy lived in Washburn Wisconsin. My grandmother Mary Elizabeth Legacy was born Wisconsin in 1899. Have also found Delphine/Josephine and Peter Legacy buried Coeur D’Alene Idaho St Thomas Catholic Cemetery.

    Like

    Comment by Vicki Cory Langridge | July 11, 2011 | Reply

  8. HI, I believe this photo was taken at the edge of my grandparents homestead property on the top of hill of St Peter Ave. The old homestead is currently a recognized heritage building and we are in the process of restoration and preservation. It is now known as the Doucet Hennessy house( the original builder / owner being Charles Doucet) He and his father also Charles Doucet ( known as Charlitte) are likely ancestors to many of the Doucets who have roots in the Bathurst and likely some of the individuals who wrote above. Would love to hear from anyone having a connection. Also am very interested in possible copies of such postcards ( with acknowledgment of course)for part of our exhibit. see http://www.doucethennessy.com

    Like

    Comment by Colleen | April 19, 2015 | Reply


Leave a Reply

