A Canadian Family

Genealogy & Vintage Postcards

The Cafe Royal Shippegan, New Brunswick, Canada

shippegan-cafe-royal

This early twentieth century postcard depicts the Cafe Royal in Shippegan (County Gloucester, New Brunswick). There is no publisher indicated on the background – just the words “Made in England” and “Post Card / Carte Postale”. Perhaps this card was privately published as an advertisement for the Cafe Royal?

shippegan-cigarettes-sportsman-coca-cola

Two out of three signs on the side of the building are for cigarettes.

The first – Black Cat – is apparently still a world wide brand though I’m unfamiliar with it in Canada. The Black Cat was the trademark of Carreras Tobacco a nineteenth century British company. In 1905 the Black Cat were one of the first machine-made cigarettes offered in Britain. Black Cat cigarettes disappeared during world war II, but the brand was revived about 1957.

The second sign includes the slogan “Rolled with ALLWEATHER waterproof paper”. Taken together with the brand name (Sportsman) you can make an educated guess about who the target audience is for these cigarettes! There’s quite a market now for Sportsman memorabilia (e.g.cigarette tins) but nowadays the cigarettes seem to be marketed in Kenya.

The third sign ( DRINK COCA-COLAS ICE COLD) is one I remember seeing when I was growing up in the fifties/sixties and our family would stop for gas. To this day I feel nothing that beats a Coca-cola in a glass bottle on a steamy summer afternoon!

shippegan-car1

The final detail I’d like to share with you is that of a vintage car parked in the street out front. I haven’t dated it yet (I’m no car expert). The license plate should be a clue and I’ve found a good online reference on New Brunswick licence plates but I still haven’t nailed down the year.

Can anyone help me date this car? If you have an idea please drop me a line in the comment box below.

EDIT: Becky Jamieson’s husband Larry  is an aficionado of vintage cars and he’s identified the car in the photo as a 1948 PLYMOUTH 2 door sedan. Thank you to both!  http://beckysgraceandglory.blogspot.com/

 Comments from reader Frank Elder – Thanks!

As you can see the Plymouth has 3 windows on the side, that makes it a 1946 to early 49 4 door sedan.
The 2 door sedan had only 2 windows on the side, with the quarter window being quite large. Google P15 sedan and you will see.
HAPPY BIRTHDAY TO GRANDMA!

 

*  *  * 

Related Posts:

Cafe Royale, Shippegan – “the best fish meal … cod in cornmeal”

Index: Vintage Postcards of New Brunswick


Further Reading:

Campaign for Tobacco-Free Kids (Tobacco Ad Gallery)

http://www.tobaccofreekids.org

Carreras Tobacco Company

http://en.wikipedia.org

New Brunswick License Plate History

http://www.canplates.com

The Website for collectors of old enamel signs and advertising

http://www.advertisingantiques.co.uk

January 18, 2009 - Posted by | . |

9 Comments »

  1. Evelyn, I think my husband can date the car. When he gets home from work this evening I’ll ask him. If he can, I’ll post his answer. I’m glad to have found your blog. Thanks for leaving a comment on my “Grace and Glory” blog.

    Like

    Comment by Becky Jamison | January 19, 2009 | Reply

  2. In the mid-fifties I used to deliver pop each summer to the Café Royale. I worked for Pepsi products bottled by Bosca and Buraglia in East Bathurst. Café Royale and the theater there were big customers. I ate at the restaurant and once slept upstairs because the next day we had to go to Miscou Island to deliver more pop. Café Royale had the best fish meal, cod in cornmeal. It was so good, served with soup, choice of tomato soup or green pea soup. I can still see the big industrial cook stove. Everyone there was so nice. Happy and friendly to this teenager who was small and looked younger than 16. Even til this day I consider it the best fish meal and I am a cook now. Whenever I go to Shippegan I remember that experience.

    My Aunt, Yvonne Thibodeau, in Bathurst NB had a car like the one in the photo. I would wash it for her. It’s a GM product – Pontiac or Chev maybe 1952

    Like

    Comment by Phil Thibodeau | January 19, 2009 | Reply

  3. Gee ! I was looking for information of Le Café Royal and I was so surprised to see this…It was very special for me because my grandfather Willie Manzerolle owned the restaurant and after that my father Raoul owned it. Since 1987, my husband and I are the owners and it’s all appartments and commercial space. My first job was washing the dishes …a cook, a waitress and a secretary for my grandfather as I was teenager.

    Like

    Comment by Gaëtane Manzerolle Haché | February 22, 2009 | Reply

    • Hi i,m very much interested by the history of the cafe royal can you foward me some phots of the inside of the restaurant

      Like

      Comment by Ben | January 4, 2017 | Reply

  4. Hello,
    It’s so nice to make your acquaintance and thank you for sharing your experience.
    I think that people growing up today in the hustle and bustle of large cities may not realize that places like the Cafe Royal were true landmarks in their time.
    I collect these postcards of everyday places because to me they are like paper monuments to the hard working people who have always made the world go around.
    Do you know the Phil Thibodeau mentioned in the other post about cod? Would that have been your grandfather or father who had the restaurant when Phil was working there?
    Evelyn

    Like

    Comment by evelynyvonnetheriault | February 22, 2009 | Reply

  5. Hi Evelyn

    I am currently working on an online record for the Café Royal as submitted to me by the Town of Shippagan. I am the Provincial Registrar for the NB Register of Historic Places (www.historicplaces.gnb.ca). This is a public searchable database of local and provincial historic places. Of the dozen sites submitted by SHippagan, this is the only one without images, historic or current. If I assign your name as the copyright, may I use this image to help fill out the record? I would certainly be glad to forward to you the research file that the town produced.

    Lawren Campbell, Heritage Branch

    Like

    Comment by Lawren Campbell | April 16, 2009 | Reply

    • Lawren,
      It would be a pleasure to help out. I’ve visited your site and I’m so happy to see people working on the local histories of New Brunswick.
      You may contact me at this address (without the spaces)
      evelyn
      th
      @
      videotron.ca
      with instructions about the preferred format etc.
      Evelyn

      Like

      Comment by evelynyvonnetheriault | April 16, 2009 | Reply

  6. As you can see the plymouth has 3 windows on the side, that makes it a 1946 to early 49 4 door sedan.
    The 2 door sedan had only 2 windows on the side, with the quarter window being quite large. Google P15 sedan and you will see.
    HAPPY BIRTHDAY TO GRANDMA!

    Like

    Comment by Frank Elder | January 19, 2010 | Reply

  7. the year of the Plymouth car at Shippagan Nb is 1946 as marked on the licence plate.

    Like

    Comment by jean-Guy Dugas | May 10, 2011 | Reply


Leave a Reply

