A Canadian Family

Genealogy & Vintage Postcards

Cafe Royale, Shippegan – “the best fish meal … cod in cornmeal”

goodshipYesterday I showed you a vintage postcard of Shippegan, New Brunswick and this evening Phil Thibodeau  was kind enough to leave a comment in which he shared his memories of the Cafe Royale. They’re so interesting that I thought I’d give him a post of his own. Here’s what M.Thibodeau has to say:

“In the mid-fifties I used to deliver pop each summer to the Café Royale. I worked for Pepsi products bottled by Bosca and Buraglia in East Bathurst. Café Royale and the theater there were big customers.

I ate at the restaurant and once slept upstairs because the next day we had to go to Miscou Island to deliver more pop.

Café Royale had the best fish meal, cod in cornmeal. It was so good, served with soup, choice of tomato soup or green pea soup. I can still see the big industrial cook stove. Everyone there was so nice. Happy and friendly to this teenager who was small and looked younger than 16. Even til this day I consider it the best fish meal and I am a cook now. Whenever I go to Shippegan I remember that experience.

My Aunt, Yvonne Thibodeau, in Bathurst NB had a car like the one in the photo. I would wash it for her. It’s a GM product – Pontiac or Chev maybe 1952″.

I see that M. Thibodeau runs a B&B  called the Toute Saisons in Pointe Verte, New Brunswick. Looks like a great place to stay the next time I visit Shippegan and area!

Toutes Saisons

Related Posts:

Index: Vintage Postcards of New Brunswick

Map: Lamecque, Miscou, Shippegan

January 19, 2009 - Posted by | . |

2 Comments »

  1. My father had a 1947 Plymouth that looked like that. That is a Plymouth logo on the back of the car.

    Like

    Comment by postcardy | July 5, 2009 | Reply

  2. It was a nice surprise to stumble upon this photograph.
    The Cafe Royal was owned and operated by my grandfather Willie P. Manzerolle and his wife Yvonne. The photo was most likely taken by my grand father, he owned a postcard taking box camera. He also operated a bakery in the rear of the building which at one time furnished the entire region with bake goods. The restaurant was divided into two sides. One side was casual dining, serving burgers, shakes etc, very popular with teenagers. The other side was more formal with fine dinning. As a kid recall that they made a killer lobster clubhouse sandwich. When visiting my grand parents, we would stay upstairs in one on the 4 or 5 boarding rooms that were no longer being rented. The building still exists, although it has been converted entirely into apartments. Good memories.

    Like

    Comment by Ray manzerolle | December 19, 2010 | Reply


Leave a Reply

