A Canadian Family

Genealogy & Vintage Postcards

Riviere-Ouelle: Une Paroisse Canadienne au XVII Siecle

riviereouellebookrectangle-001

One day I was on my knees in a cramped, second-hand book shop in the east end of Montreal. What was I doing there? I was rummaging through a slighly damp, crumpled cardboard box shoved up under a metal shelving unit. Under a pile of old French cathechism books and church notices, I noticed an ornate red leather binding sticking out. It turned out to be an original copy (1890) of Abbe. Casgrain’s “Une Paroisse Canadienne au XVII Siecle – La Riviere-Ouelle” – a parish history covering the Riviere-Ouelle of the 17th century. The book is a treasure trove of historical and genealogical information as well as anecdotes. Leafing through the pages gives you some real insight into the French Catholic rural world of the late 1600s. From time-to-time I’ll be sharing selected portions. For today I’ve scanned a few of Abbe Casgrain’s tables which highlight the family names of the original settlers of Riviere-Ouelle.

Chart 1

Families in the Riviere Ouelle Catholic Registers from 1681 to 1690

 

Autin – Bonin – Bouchard – Boucher – De Saint-Pierre – Dube – Durant – Emond – Gauvin – Grondin – Huot – Laboye – Lebel – Lissot – Mignot – Mignot dit Labrie – Miville – Ouellet – Pelletier – Renouard – Soucy – Trottier

riviereouellebottomfirstwave1

riviereouellelavoye

Chart 2

Families in the Riviere Ouelle Catholic Registers from 1690 to 1703

Ancelin – Aubert – Aubert de Gaspe – Berube – Boiry dit Lavergne – Bordeliere dit Laplante – Bouchard – Boucher – Brisson – Contancineau – D’Auteuil – Dancosse – Dionne – Dubroc dit Dutertre – Duval – Fouquereau – Fournier de Belleval – Gagnon – Galbruin – Grondin – Hayot – Hudon – Hudon – Janneau – Juchereau de St-Denis – Juin – Letartre – Loignon – Martin – Meigne – Meigne dit Lagace Michaud – Mignot – Morin – Paradis – Peltier – Pierrot – Pinel – Plourde – Raby – Roy dit Desjardins – Soucy – Testu – Thibaudeau – Vaillancourt

jeangagnon1

robertmorin

rpierre-aubert

francois-duval

Source:

Casgrain, Abbe. H.R. (1890) Une paroisse Canadienne au XVIIe Siecle: La Riviere-Ouelle. Pub. C.O. Beauchemin & Fils 

Related Posts:

Portal – Lagace Mignier

La Pocatiere/Riviere Ouelle Original Land Grants

Riviere-Ouelle Church: the Old and the New

February 16, 2009 - Posted by | . |

12 Comments »

  1. I happened upon this site while in search of the heroes of Rivière Ouelle since so many of my ancestors were part of the skirmish with Phips, and were also associated in some way with M. de la Bouteillerie.

    At least half of the ‘heroes’ are ancestors of mine.

    Thanks for creating this page. The Casgrain book is indeed a wonderful source.

    Like

    Comment by Marjorie Lizotte | January 1, 2010 | Reply

    • Could you tell me more on “skirmish with Phips” please?
      I would love to hear about this incident since many of my ancestors are also fron Rivière-Ouelle..

      Like

      Comment by Fernand Pelletier | August 15, 2012 | Reply

      • I never got around to translating that part of the book – will see what I can do over the Christmas vacation!
        Evelyn

        Like

        Comment by Evelyn Yvonne Theriault | September 1, 2012 | Reply

  2. this is a WONDERFUL resource!!! thanks so much for making this available. to me, this is what the internet is all about. and this is what genealogy is all about… the sharing of great resources like this! the people in Chart 1 are almost ALL my people!!! and a quick glance at Chart 2 tells me that there are some of my peeps there too! will have to check out the rest of your site too! what a great thing you have done!

    Like

    Comment by Donella | July 2, 2010 | Reply

    • Donella,
      I’m just back in town for a few days. What a lovely surprise to find your comment.
      Thanks!
      Evelyn

      Like

      Comment by Evelyn Yvonne Theriault | July 11, 2010 | Reply

  3. Thanks so much for sharing your find! Been wondering why we can’t find info about those early years, now I’m satisfied. I do wonder tho, where they buried everybody before 1680 or so. Also, do you know where Jean Galleran Boucher is buried. He died in 1714. Supposedly in RO. I
    So much want to visit someday. I have loved finding my French roots!

    Like

    Comment by Arlene Burgie | September 3, 2010 | Reply

  4. This site is very nice and may possibly save many days of research. I’m also trying to find how Joseph, My grandfather and Georgianna Boucher (Grandmother) got to Fitchburg MA.

    Like

    Comment by Joseph A. Ouellette | December 30, 2010 | Reply

  5. Hi , 🙂

    Well, i think you are my savior…

    I search some information about Robert Morin (wife: Françoise Migner) beadle in Grande Anse (may be Riv Ouelle ) in 1693 and more.
    In the net all i found, it is beadle in St anne Lapocatiere, but La Pocatiere was named La Pocatiere in 1721 only. I think that was Grand Anse 2-3 km from Riv Ouelle.

    I will apreciate if you’ll ahve this information..

    One thousands thanks!!!!

    Like

    Comment by Georges morin | January 29, 2013 | Reply

  6. All of my Beaulieu Hudon family were born, married and died in Riviere Ouelle (traced back as far as Pierre Hudon b. 1649 in Anjou, Isere, Rhone-Alpes, France who seems to be the first to arrive in Riviere Ouelle). Would love to take a trip there and see if I can find any further info. Until then, if there are any notations in your book regarding the Beaulieu Hudon family, I would be most appreciative to see it! Thank you!!

    Like

    Comment by Daniel Kirby | August 14, 2014 | Reply

  7. Am looking for any Metis connections to my family, have read Riviera Ouelle was large native area…..Hudon de Beaulieu, Grondin, Langlais, Bouchard….Help! Genealogy is SO HARD.

    Note: Answered privately

    Like

    Comment by Cara | June 13, 2015 | Reply

    • Cara if you connect with Nicolas Pelletier has a Metis line. Also thanks this collection of great info. Most of my ancestors are on that list too.

      Like

      Comment by Natural By Design | May 9, 2016 | Reply

  8. I was born Ouellette, in Maine, and never heard anything about my family history. I cannot thank you all enough for all the information you’ve worked so hard to find. I finally feel I have family and it’s wonderful. The thing that keeps striking me though….”we are all a human quilt” is an understatement! I never would have guessed so many people throughout the world are researching the same names as I am. Trouble with all of this? It’s terribly addicting!! But I’m loving it.

    Like

    Comment by Carolina Bradford | March 19, 2017 | Reply


Leave a Reply

