A Canadian Family

Genealogy & Vintage Postcards

Vintage Postcards: Village de Ste-Anne-de-la-Pocatiere, Quebec

This is a historic, early twentieth-century postcard of the village of Ste-Anne-de-la-Pocatiere. Many of our Mignier dit Lagaces from Riviere-Ouelle settled in that area of La Pocatiere.

village-de-st-anne-de-lapocatiere

 

Message from a comment box – thanks!

I can see my great uncle Arthur’s house on the left side of the street (the one with the dormer windows). This photo was probably taken by him. He ran his business out of this house – “Arthur Gendreau Photography”. Comparing it to some photos that I have I would say this picture was taken about 1920.
Brian O’Hara

 

Related Posts:

Index: Vintage Postcards of Quebec

Mignier dit Lagaces – French Canadians

February 24, 2009 - Posted by | .

3 Comments »

  1. Hi I like this post card because this town looks like it had a bAd storm. That’s my theory. the trees of this postcard look like there are no leaves. Maybe its automn. It can’t be winter so I suggest automn.
    This postcard must be in the olden days maybe 1990-1980 so that my comment today. Have a nice day.

    Comment by silly billy | September 23, 2009 | Reply

  2. I can see my great uncle Arthur’s house on the left side of the street (the one with the dormer windows). This photo was probobley taken by him. He ran his business out of this house – “Arthur Gendreau Photograghy”. Comparing it to some photos that I have I would say this picture was taken about 1920.
    Brian O’Hara

    Comment by brian | January 2, 2010 | Reply

  3. I was born and still living in La Pocatiere,,, still a small town (5 000) but no more looking like this picture,,,we have 3 research centers ; education and knowhow are our strenghts,,,I recall my father talking about Gendreau photograph located on the main street, ,,the city now had an internet page if you want to see it more actual

    Comment by Jacques | December 15, 2012 | Reply


Leave a Reply

