A Canadian Family

Genealogy & Vintage Postcards

“You like po-tato and I like po-tahto!” Pt.2

Earlier, I had promised specific examples of the various Lagace dit Mignier surnames that have emerged out of  a recent spate of emails between five of us who are researching descendants of  Andre Mignier dit Lagace and Jacquette Michel.  Today (with their express permission) I’m sharing some excerpts from those emails. I begin with Fred who inspired these posts.

Fred Legacy is a direct descendant of Andre Mignier dit Lagace and Jacquette Michel through  Andre / Michel / Michel / Basil / Joseph / Pierre / Hypolite / Abraham  / Joseph / Walter / Joseph Lester.

Fred Legacy says:

Our line moved through Grand Falls, Van Buren, Jacquet River and Lepreau, New Brunswick. I reside on Campobello Island . … I descend from from Basile and Madeleine (Leclerc) through their son Joseph. The spelling variations of the name are very interesting.  In my own line, my Great Grandfather Abraham was a Lagace, however through records, Walter, my Grandfather, changes to Legace.  Walter’s children, are all recorded as Legacy.  It is said that Walter did not know how to read.  As with many French names, Lagace was written differently by English people trying to spell French names.  Walter relied that the spelling was correct when he said the family name.  I believe, from my research, that my line is the only one that ended up with the spelling as Legacy.  Could you confirm that?

 and the next day:

You know, after my last email to you, I started to wonder about my own questions to you, regarding whether my line was the only line to adopt the Legacy spelling. In all my research and document gathering, I never asked my Father to see his birth certificate!  Amazing how the simple things get over looked in favour of all the complicated ones. My research had shown that Abraham and Walter (my G/Grandfather and Grandfather respectively) were  Lagace and Legace, and then Walter’s children (my Dad and uncles) had become Legacy. You will never believe this…my Father, a few years ago got his birth certificate in preparation for retirement.  He showed it to me tonight, and his last name is spelled LAGACE !  With an accent over the last E.  This means that my father and his siblings were taught incorrectly (we believe at school) to spell his last name Legacy.  His father Walter did not know how to read or write and I know from a 1911 census that his Grandfather Abraham and Grandmother Louise did now know how either.  So with no one to tell the children any differently, they adopted Legacy and all important records (military, marriages, birth certificates of their children and even death records of my uncles) have this Legacy name. Just amazing isn’t it? Now this does not answer the original question are we the only “Legacy” branch – but it is an interesting story, and I know that it is actually my generation that is the official first of it!

Nmdon and I met after I noticed something he’d  written on a website about the Chazy Lake, New York Kings. He was explaining the origin of another anglicized surname (King from the French Canadian Roy).

Nmdon says:

You may have noticed his wife’s name was mentioned, Mary Miller or Marie Meunier in French.  She is a descendant of André Mignier dit Lagacé. The surnames Miller and Legacy are quite common in Clinton County, NY.

Evelyn N. and I have been collaborating on her New Brunswick Guiter line.

Evelyn Nolan says:

My mother’s name was Marie Vina Guitar (she was born in South Teteagouche) and her father’s name was Romuald Guitar (he was born in Pointe Verte) and her mother’s name was Nora Lagace (she was also born in South Teteagouche).

Earline is a fellow Geneablogger and she’s posted some original Mignier/Lagace documents at her site.

Earline says:

Hi, yes, I also descend from Michel Minier dit Lagace and Angelique Thibault. Their son Joseph married Marie-Anne Ouelette, and their son Louis Minier-Legace married Marie-Rosalie Richard who were the parents of Helene. 

And finally,

Evelyn Theriault says:

If I look at just one small set of documents  (20th century New Brunswick births of my mother’s brothers and sisters) I find: Lagace, Lagacé, Lagacey, Lagacy, Legace and Legacey.


So as you can see, just a short email exchange shows 

nine of the surname variations mentioned in my first post!

Lagace     Lagacé    Lagacey

Legace     Legacey     Legacy

Meunier     Miller     Minier-Legacy

 

 

IMPORTANT RESEARCH NOTE: If you came here for Fred and Ginger click on Pt.1

 

Related Posts:

“You like po-tato and I like po-tahto!” Pt.1

Portal – Lagace Mignier

Links:

 Ancestral Notes

 The Kings of Chazy Lake and Associated Families

March 14, 2009 - Posted by | . | ,

2 Comments »

  1. Dear Evelyn
    What a great forum! Thank you for sharing feedback and information from all of us. I look forward to much more!
    Fred

    Like

    Comment by Ernest Frederick Legacy | March 14, 2009 | Reply

  2. Evelyn N.
    Would like to exchange information on the Guitar/Guitard family – My grandmother was Marie Delima Guitard of Pointe Verte. If you’d like, please email me at fred_133@hotmail.com
    Fred

    Like

    Comment by Ernest Frederick Legacy | March 14, 2009 | Reply


Leave a Reply

