A Canadian Family

Natives, French Canadians, Acadians

Vintage Postcard: Spring has sprung!

When I was a little girl I used to collect tiny little cards that came in my mother’s Red Rose Tea boxes. I remember the beautiful illustrations of wild flowers (and birds) so when I saw this Lipton’s Tea postcard

I just had to have it! Check out the little phrases under each flower.

liptonfrontfull2

This postcard was easy to date. The message date, postmark and stamp

in honour of Quebec’s third centenary all point to 1908.

liptonteaback

Addressee:

Miss D.C. Fader, 16 Spring Garden Road, Halifax, N.S.

Sept.4 ‘08

Dear J (?)-

Just got your letter today. Sorry to hear about the fire. Hope Esther did not catch cold. It must have given you all an awful shock. And others as well. Am sorry for their nice little home but it couldhave been much worse. Did Mrs. H loose much? I guess you all feel pretty shabby. Hope every thing will soon be alright.That nasty old place is out of the way.

All pretty well. Will likely see you soon. Lovingly B.

Related Posts

Index: Vintage Postcards – holidays, international, novelty etc.

Indexes: Historical Postcards

March 19, 2009 - Posted by | . |

15 Comments »

  1. OMG !!
    This is so much beautiful and vintage.
    I hope I’m lucky enough to own one.

    Thanks for sharing it with us.

    Like

    Comment by Lay Hoon | March 19, 2009 | Reply

  2. A very interesting card.

    Like

    Comment by postcardy | March 19, 2009 | Reply

  3. This post card is so pretty! When I see something like this, I always wonder about the person who wrote it. Is it someone you know?

    Like

    Comment by JoLyn | March 19, 2009 | Reply

  4. Spring has sprung is the perfect title! It makes me want to brew tea and drink it in my garden:) B’s reaction is certainly odd (that nasty place is out of the way) It makes me chuckle. Jeez Louise! I don’t think that’s what I would want to hear if my house has just burnt down!

    It’s also wonderful that you were able to find something that reminds you so dearly of your childhood! Imagining little Evelyn and her collection of Red Rose Tea Cards warms the soul!

    Like

    Comment by Marie | March 20, 2009 | Reply

  5. That’s a wonderful card! I would have had to have had it too! I love the messages as much as the cards.

    Like

    Comment by Sheila | March 20, 2009 | Reply

  6. Reading the back of an old postcard is like opening a tiny window into someone else’s time and place. I love seeing the formal old handwriting as well. You can’t beat script written with a fountain pen for beautiful markings.

    Like

    Comment by steviewren | March 20, 2009 | Reply

  7. What a beautiful, refreshing and elegant postcard! The little phrases under the flowers are very interesting indeed. My first name (“Müge”) means “Lily of the valley” in turkish language and I learn from your beautiful postcard that this flower symbolizes “unconscious sweetness”. What a nice surprise! 🙂

    I wish you a wonderful day,

    Best regards,

    Like

    Comment by Müge | March 20, 2009 | Reply

  8. What a beautiful card! I love the flowers and descriptions! Happy PFF!

    Like

    Comment by Muse Swings | March 20, 2009 | Reply

  9. Some of my favorite cards are these vintage advertising cards; regrettably, I own very few, but Great-Grandpa left me some that hawk things like Hershey bars and chewing tobacco.

    Like

    Comment by Chris Overstreet | March 20, 2009 | Reply

  10. I would have bought it too. I understand your passion for this kind of card. This postcard is so poetic ! Drawings are so fine (I mean “delicats” in French).
    My favorite are Violet and Poppy. Faithfull and Consolation. Perfect in this present time.

    Like

    Comment by Catherine | March 20, 2009 | Reply

  11. Nothing like vintage! ;o)

    Like

    Comment by Lucie LeBlanc Consentino | March 21, 2009 | Reply

  12. This is just perfect for Postcardy’s scavenger hunt! Francois used to collect the cards from hot chocolate packages. I told him about little Evelyn’s tea card collection!

    Like

    Comment by Marie | April 8, 2009 | Reply

  13. i found the colors of the flowers amazing!!!The colors make the flowers stand out!! I Also found it interesting!!

    Like

    Comment by LuckyPuppy | April 9, 2009 | Reply

  14. I like the card with the flowers the flowers are very beautiful but my favorite one is daisy because it’s very beautiful. I find it very interesting to know the meaning of the flowers.

    Like

    Comment by rahma | April 9, 2009 | Reply

  15. It is a beautiful card and I love the deep red rose the most because I have loved roses the best since my great-grandmother died and whenever I see a rose I remember her alot and I agree with rahma it is interesting to know the meaning of the flowers.

    Like

    Comment by Kayla | April 12, 2009 | Reply


Leave a Reply

