A Canadian Family

Genealogy and Vintage Postcards

Early Acadian Pioneers of Caraquet, New Brunswick

Olivier Blanchard & Catherine Admirault dit Mirau

Joseph Boudreau & Marie-Jeanne Hache

Jean Caissie & Marie-Heloise Corbet (wife non-Acadian)

Joseph Chiasson & Anne Hache

David Comeau & Olive Young (wife non-Acadian)

Alexis Cormier & Elisabeth Gauthier

Zacharie Doiron & Anne LeVicaire

Etienne Doucet & Marie Landry

Joseph Dugas & Agathe Landry

Rene Haché & Marguerite Blanchard

Joseph Hebert & Marie-Joseph Vincent

Alexis Landry & Claire Leblanc

Olivier Legere & Marie-Joseph Hebert

Charles Pinet dit Lejeune & Marie Testard

Charles Poirier & Madeleine Landry

Francois Savoie & Anne Poirier

Joseph Theriault & Marie-Joseph Girouard (my direct ancestors)

 

Note: I have included couples who appear in Fidele Thériault’s “Familles de Caraquet” and who carry a surname associated with Acadians at the time of the deportation. There are other surnames (e.g. Brideau and my Lagaces) which appear on later “Acadian surname” lists. This happened as French Canadians married into – and then identified with – the Acadian population.

 

References:

Theriault Fidele (1985) Les Familles de Caraquet. ISBN 0-9692151-0-X

Hebert, Pierre-Maurice (1994) Les Acadiens du Quebec. ISBN 2-920312-32-4

March 29, 2009 - Posted by | . | ,

10 Comments »

  1. Thanks for posting this information. My grandfather Joseph John Lewis Dugas b. 29 Mar 1892 in Caraquet, NB to parents Simon Dugas and Leuce Godin came and settled in Lowell, MA. I am tried learning French in high school and kick my butt now for not learning to read it. I heard that one of our Dugas relatives was supposed to be a supreme court judge there but as of yet have been unable to find any information. Thanks for posting this for it helps in my research.

    Comment by Craig Dougherty | September 5, 2009 | Reply

    • Hi Just read your comment dated in 2009 where you were looking for your ancester Jean Louis Dugas. In case my answer is not too late here is some information of interest to you,
      Jean Louis Dugas son of Simon Dugas and Luce Godin. Simon was the son of Bruno Dugas Bruno was the son of Joseph Dugas the first Dugas who came to Caraquet.
      the genealogy of the Dugas since 1640 has been search and the information is available through the ASSOCIATION DES FAMILLES DUGAS INC,
      I will be pleased to give you more détails.

      Comment by Irène Dugas | March 10, 2016 | Reply

  2. Hello Craig,
    It’s nice to hear from you. Have you already traced your line up to Joseph Dugas and Agathe Landry?
    I’ll see if there’s anything on your Dugas judge.
    Evelyn

    Comment by evelynyvonnetheriault | September 5, 2009 | Reply

    • Hello Evelyn,
      I have traced my family back to Abraham 2nd Dugas also my maternal line all the way back to one of the mother of Acadia Ann Brenon. I did find my judge but he was a Superior Court Judge. His name was Albany M Robichaud 22 Jul 1903 in Shippegan to 27 Oct 1974 Bathurst. He was also the Mayor of Bathurst from 1945 to 1947. He was married to a Dorina Cormier who I know would be my most recent connection to for my roots are Dugas/Cormier from Caraquet. I just started this search but so far have not confirmed her parents. I am leaning towards a Sylvester Cormier being her father but am still working on that. I am also trying to locate myseld a copy of the book (Theriault Fidele (1985) Les Familles de Caraquet. ISBN 0-9692151-0-X) to buy but am having no luck locating anyone selling it. Keep digging! Cheers, Craig Dougherty

      Replied here:
      http://acanadianfamily.com/2010/10/23/evelyn-in-montreal-albany-m-robichaud-m-dorina-cormier-new-brunswick-1929-acadian-genealogy/

      Comment by Craig Dougherty | October 13, 2010 | Reply

  3. Looking for a book:

    Les Familles De Caraquet
    by, Fidele Theriault

    Any Idea where I can find it.
    Thanks

    Comment by Jason Woodbury | September 12, 2009 | Reply

    • I purchased the book “Les Familles De Caraquet” at the Musee Acadiens in Caraquet. Perhaps they can send you a copy.

      Comment by Anonymous | October 7, 2009 | Reply

  4. I am seeking the parents, and beyond, of Judith Dugas, m. Francois d’Assisi Theriault

    This is for a friend’s chart…
    Any help is gratefully appreciated

    Thank You,
    Claude Arsenault

    Comment by Claude Arsenault | December 21, 2010 | Reply

  5. Olivier Leger and Marie Hebert are my gggggg-grandparents on my mother’s side. I take pride that they were one of the pioneering families that settled Caraquet. My father’s side of the family did the same on Orleans Island. That’s where my roots are.

    Comment by Will Morrissette | March 28, 2012 | Reply


Leave a Reply

