A Canadian Family

Genealogy & Vintage Postcards

Jehan Theriault’s Poitou Homeland – A Photo Gallery by Jean Paul Laurendeau

Martaize signSome time ago – through the marvels of modern DNA matching and online databases – I met a Jean Paul Laurendeau who lives in France. Our match is through my Theriault father’s YDNA but Jean Paul is not a Theriault. We probably connect because we both have ancestors in Poitou, France – although he has many more than I do. Jean Paul actually has many surnames in his family tree that Acadians and French Canadians would recognize including  Thibaudeau, Moreau, Arsenault and Archambeau. For those of you who are unaware Jehan Theriault (var. Jean Tario, Terio, Therriau etc.) was from Vienne, Poitou-Charentes (France). Jehan and Perrine Rau are the founding couple of all Theriaults in North America.  I rediscovered Jean Paul when I came across his beautiful photos of the Poitou region of France and he’s been generous enough to share these with A Canadian Family readers. So if your ancestors are from Poitou please sit back and take a “virtual” tour of this ancestral homeland of so many French Canadians.

Martaize eglise

Eglise Martaize (Church) France

 

Martaize wall construction

Jean Paul's daughter Laëtitia points out a detail

Martaize wall construciton round tower

Martaize - a Round Tower

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Martaize eglise inside

Martaize (Church) Internal View with Laëtitia

 

 
Aulnay Signs

eglise la chaussee

Eglise La Chaussee (Church) France

 

June 2, 2009 - Posted by | . | , , , , ,

11 Comments »

  1. Marvelous! My ancestors, Michel and Martin Dupuis, were from La Chaussée. I have visited the area several times.

    Like

    Comment by Kateri Dupuis | June 3, 2009 | Reply

  2. I agree – the images are marvelous! You’re lucky you could visit and of course those of us who can’t are lucky that Jean Paul and others are willing to share their photos. Vive la France!
    I notice your name is Kateri. Is that in honour of Kateri Tekakwitha, the Mohawk Catholic saint from Kahnawake?
    Thanks for commenting!
    Evelyn

    Like

    Comment by evelynyvonnetheriault | June 3, 2009 | Reply

    • Yes, I am named after Kateri Tekawitha and am very proud of it. My mother was reading and studying before I was born, and she found information on Kateri. Although I am not Native American/First Nation, I have always been interested in everything Indian as were my parents.

      Like

      Comment by Kateri Dupuis | June 3, 2009 | Reply

  3. Very interesting! This summer I’m planning to write more about the Mohawk community of Kahnawake/Caughnawaga and I’ll probably take some fresh pictures. I live next door.
    I notice from your excellent website
    http://home.roadrunner.com/~dupuiskateri/
    that you are from Wisconsin. I’ll see if I can get some pictures related to Kateri for you.
    Also, in case you haven’t noticed there are a few postcards in the Vintage Postcards part of this site.
    Evelyn

    Like

    Comment by evelynyvonnetheriault | June 3, 2009 | Reply

    • Terrific. Bonne chance.

      I was amazed to see a statue of Kateri in the little church in St. Martinville, LA when I attended the Congrès Mondial Acadien in 1999. There is also a statue to her in a church in northern WI some place.. I believe it is on the Menominee Reservation.

      Did you know that there is a Tekawitha Indian Mission in Sisseton, SD? I am not sure if it is still in operation, but it was there for many years.

      Like

      Comment by Kateri Dupuis | June 3, 2009 | Reply

  4. No I didn’t realize that Kateri was revered in other places besides here. You know what would be very interesting – to do a joint post this summer with Kateri info from here and the States.
    Evelyn

    Like

    Comment by evelynyvonnetheriault | June 3, 2009 | Reply

  5. That’s a great idea.

    Like

    Comment by Kateri Dupuis | June 3, 2009 | Reply

  6. Kateri,
    You have a great website and it looks like you
    have been very busy with your quest for family
    information. Thanks again for keeping me in your
    circle.
    Ed Dupuis

    Like

    Comment by Ed Dupuis | June 5, 2009 | Reply

  7. Thank you kindly- Merci beaucoup – for these photos. I went to Aberdeen school with some Thériault`s from east end Moncton, NB, back in the 1950`s. I re-posted this post on my Facebook page with the following note:
    Martaizé, in France, the birthplace and home of the entire Canadian-Acadien LeBlanc clan. Founder Daniel LeBlanc, born there about 1626 and his wife Marie-Françoise Gaudet, also born there about 1623, were married in 1650 in Port Royal, Acadie (now Nova Scotia, Canada).
    Photos courtesy the Thériault family, also originally from Martaizé.

    Like

    Comment by Denis LeBlanc | August 18, 2015 | Reply

    • Les origines inconnues des migrants vers l’Acadie du XVIIème siècle sont toujours à rechercher dans toute la France ( Bourg, Gaudet, Leblanc, Terriau, Robichaud etc…

      Aucun renseignements à leur sujet (Recensement de 1671) ni de lieux , ni noms des Parents. Quelques origines retrouvées par les Roles des Navires ou quelques contrat d’Engagements.

      Bonne année 2016

      Liked by 1 person

      Comment by Marie | December 31, 2015 | Reply

  8. Can anyone please help me? I need contact information for the Church in Martaizé, the bar across the street from the church, and La Maison de L’Acadie in La Chaussé .

    I am descended from Antoine and Antoinette Bourg who left the Martaizé/La Chaussé in 1632 and were married in Port Royale in 1636.

    My fiancé and I hope to be married in the Martaizé church, in which hangs a beautiful plaque with information about Antoine and Antoinette.

    We fell in love with the area when we visited a few years ago. I’ve been unable to locate my papers from our visit, and have been unsuccessful in locating online the name of the church or an email or phone number for the pastor, the bar across the street and the La Maison de L’Acadie..

    If you know the name of the church or if you have contact information for the pastor, the bar or La Maison de L’Acadie, we would be most grateful if you would contact me. My email address is judith1139@comcast.net .

    I’ve just encountered your wonderful website. Thank you for making this information available.

    I should add that my brother Eugene Frank researched our family tree years ago, going back to Antoine and Antoinette in Martaizé/La Chaussé and ancestors of my great-grandfather Jean Baptiste Bernardin in Plombières-les-Bain (Vosges department in Lorraine). We also have a 3-volume book on Jean Baptiste: early life, life in Napoleon’s army, and life in Quebec where he was sent when captured by the British.

    Best wishes to all! Et merci.
    Judith

    Like

    Comment by Judith Marie Belanger Bernardin Frank | January 27, 2016 | Reply


Leave a Reply

