A Canadian Family

Genealogy and Vintage Postcards

Mohawk Warriors, Nam Knights & Canadian Vietnam War Vets

Yesterday I spent a few hours in Kahnawake at the Echoes of a Proud Nation Pow Wow. I went to see the dancers but what I’m sharing in this post is a photograph of the very stirring Grand Entrance of some Iroquois veterans of several Canadian and American armed conflicts.

July 2009 KahnawakeVeteransGrandEntrance

The Six Nations Confederacy – to which the Mohawk belong – straddles several provincial and international borders. The Mohawk have a long warrior tradition and in modern times they’ve served in both the Canadian and American Armed Services. The first three flags at the front are those of  the United States of America, Canada and the Iroquois Confederacy.

These veterans actually made two Grand Entrances because many of them had arrived en masse on motorcycles just an hour before. I happened to arrive at the same time and it was quite an eye opener for me because I didn’t realize that there were military motorcycle clubs. I noticed two types of insignia – Nam Knights and the Canadian Vietnam Veterans one pictured below.

Veterans of Canada VeteranBadge

There were other insignia but I was a little too shy (that’s my story and I’m sticking to it!!!) to walk up and get a closer look!

* * *

* * *

* * *

* * *

* * *

Related Posts:

The Iroquois of Kahnawake

July 12, 2009 - Posted by | . | , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

