A Canadian Family

Genealogy and Vintage Postcards

Bridges Over The St-Lawrence River(1): Honore Mercier Bridge, Quebec

This is an interesting set of 2 postcards of the Honore Mercier, one of several bridges that connects Montreal to the South Shore. This bridge passes over both the St-Lawrence River and the St-Lawrence Seaway. Note the vivid colours and handpainted flowers on the second version!

I believe this photograph is taken from the shore of what is now the borough of Lasalle looking towards Kahnawake (aka Caughnawaga) and Chateauguay. I grew up in Lasalle in the 50s/60s and have been living in Chateauguay since the 90s.

Chateauguay is full of people whose families came from Lasalle and Verdun.

Vintage Postcard of Honore Mercier Bridge, Ville Lasalle, Montreal, Canada

Honore Mercier Bridge, Ville Lasalle.  A Canadian Family Vintage Postcard Collection

Reverse of Honore Mercier Bridge, Vintage Postcard

Merciervillelasalleback


Vintage Postcard of Mercier Bridge, Caughnawaga

Mercier Bridge, Caughnawaga

Reverse, Mercier Bridge, Caughnawaga (Kahnawake) Quebec

Mercier Bridge, CaughnawagaBack

Related Posts:

Index: Vintage Postcards of Quebec

The Iroquois of Kahnawake

August 3, 2009 - Posted by | . | , , ,

5 Comments »

  1. Neat~ Somewhere I have photos of the St. Lawrence at Notre-Dame du Cap. Still searching for *all* of my postcards

    Comment by Lucie LeBlanc Consentino | August 3, 2009 | Reply

    • If you post it then I’ll link to it. I want as many images as possible of the St-Lawrence River to share with my history students this winter!

      Comment by evelynyvonnetheriault | August 3, 2009 | Reply

  2. I’m also looking for historic photos Montreal’s bridges for montrealroads.com, one of the sites I administer as webmaster. Thanks for your help.

    Comment by Steve Anderson | September 7, 2009 | Reply

  3. Hello Steve,
    I just took a quick look at your site, and in particular the section
    http://www.montrealroads.com/crossings/.
    It’s great to see someone else interested in documenting this important topic and you have some very interesting information and photographs for anyone interested in the bridges of Montreal. When I have a moment I will certainly go back to my posts and add some links to your information!
    I will be posting a few more vintage postcards of Montreal’s South Shore bridges – though no original photographs unfortunately.
    My email is
    evelyn
    th
    at
    videotron.ca

    Comment by evelynyvonnetheriault | September 7, 2009 | Reply

  4. Hi,
    I like this postcard because I live really close to it and my grandma is my neighbor so after school me,my sister and my grandma always go walk on that bridge and we always bring bread for the ducks.At winter its the prettiest thing you’ve seen in your life,with all the snow and the water is ice so you could go ice-skating and ice fishing.

    Comment by Kate | September 17, 2009 | Reply


Leave a Reply

