A Canadian Family

Natives, French Canadians, Acadians

Encore Post | Lac Megantic, Quebec

In these days my heart goes out to the people of Lac Megantic in the midst of the tragedy unfolding after the derailment of the railroad cars early Saturday morning. According  to genealogist/historian Marcel Fournier, the buildings below have been totally destroyed as well as the local library holding many historical and genealogical artefacts (Source: interview Sunday)

Megantic

This is a vintage postcard of turn-of-the-century Lake Megantic. Lake Megantic was originally part of the Eastern Townships – an area that was associated with English-speaking Loyalist settlers.  The Eastern Townships is no longer an official region, and Lac Megantic is now part of the Quebec administrative region of l’Estrie.

Megantic detail

Related Posts:

Vintage Postcards of Quebec

October 9, 2009 - Posted by | . |

7 Comments »

  1. I absolutely adore the muted tones in these wonderfu postcards! Thank you so much for sharing them with us!

    Happy PFF a little late. (grin)

    Like

    Comment by Beth | October 10, 2009 | Reply

  2. I’d love to’ve an antique shop (selling ephemera of course) in a building with character like this one. That is probably why the majority of US state view postcards I list are of buildings. However, I noticed the balcony on this postcard’s building has no support posts (and there are people outside standing on it!). I’m not an architect, so am wondering why the balcony doesn’t sag and fall (same for the building next to it).

    Like

    Comment by soda_santa | October 10, 2009 | Reply

  3. My friend has a chalet at Lac Mégantic. My friend’s family, my family, and I all went there once to spend time together. We drove there from home, we got there at night, we made a fire in the fireplace outside so we can warm up, went inside, had a snack, did the “before I go to bed things“, went to bed, woke up, ate cereal, did the “after I wake up things“, went outside with my friend, went in our tree house, worked in our tree house, went inside, ate lunch, played video games, went outside to play in our tree house, went inside, ate supper, played video games, went outside, started a fire in the fireplace outside, roasted and ate marshmellows, went inside, ate a snack, did the “before I go to bed things“, went to bed, woke up, ate cereal, did the “after I wake up things“, watched T.V., played video games, ate lunch, went outside in our tree house, went inside, had a snack, and finally, we left back home. When we were outside, I got bitten by A-L-O-T of MOSQUITOES. At home, I wouldn’t be able to stop scratching all because of those mosquitoes!!! Rghhhhhhh!!! Except that mosqitoe thing, I had a blast!

    Like

    Comment by Nicolas | January 22, 2010 | Reply

    • His chalet was right in front of the lake!!!

      Like

      Comment by Nicolas | January 22, 2010 | Reply

      • Thank you SO MUCH for your comments, Nicolas. You write really well and it was great to get such detail about your visit.
        This is a great piece of family history writing!
        Mrs. Theriault

        Like

        Comment by evelynyvonnetheriault | January 22, 2010 | Reply

  4. My GGramma Jolin is burried in Megantic…I hope to get there and see if I can find the grave, then my GGparents can be together again (At least on my hardrive)< He died more than 20 years before she did and is burried at Notredame du bon Conseil

    Like

    Comment by Michel Jolin | January 16, 2012 | Reply

    • Oops she’s buried at Malarctic, I always get them confused :S

      Like

      Comment by Michel Jolin | January 16, 2012 | Reply


Leave a Reply

