A Canadian Family

Natives, French Canadians, Acadians

Harvey, Parris, Slavin, Murphy & Collins – English Quebeckers In Our Canadian Family Tree

I had a wonderful time today with my sister’s daughter Gabrielle Harvey. For the last year I’ve been tracing her family tree through her father’s lines and today she shared a lot of new information she’s been collecting about her father Daniel Harvey’s family. So far, I haven’t been able to share this research online because I hadn’t gone back far enough in time but now that I’m making more progress, I’ve decided to  begin publishing some little bits and pieces from her English background. By way of introduction, I’d like to say that her major patronym is Harvey – but it branches out into Ross, Parris, Slavin, Murphy, and Collins, and all these families seem to have roots back in England (apparently London and Manchester).

*   *   *   *   *

Dear Gabrielle,

As I was going back through some primary documents connected to your grandmother’s Slavin ancestors, I thought you’d like to know that I found your great-great-grandfather Patrick Slavin’s signature on the 1887 birth certificate of his son John Slavin.

I also found two interesting little facts on John’s birth certificate. First of all, John’s full name was John Patrick Phillip Slavin. Secondly, do you know what Patrick did for a living? He was a “carriage painter” in Quebec City.  Isn’t that interesting?

Where do you fit into all of this, Gabrielle ?  As you know you are the grand-daughter of M.F. Parris (m. S. Harvey) and her mother was  Mary Gertrude Slavin (m. James Parris). Mary Gertrude was a daughter of Patrick Slavin and Annie Murphy. I’ll publish a proper family tree for you when the dates are a little firmer.

That’s all for today,

Auntie Evelyn

December 28, 2009 - Posted by | . | ,

10 Comments »

  1. I look forward to reading more. It is always interesting to research in a different direction. When I started researching my family, it was pretty cut-and-dry: mostly old New England lines.

    But when I got into my husband’s… My gosh! Loyalists who were disposessed of their lands and fled to Canada! French-Canadian ancestors from Quebec! It is fun to work on his family and learn things about new people and places.

    Like

    Comment by Wendy Hawksley | December 28, 2009 | Reply

  2. Thanks so much Aunty Evelyn! I had a great time going over my family’s history with you. I look forward to seeing what we can accomplish in the new year.

    Like

    Comment by Gaby | January 1, 2010 | Reply

  3. I didn’t know you were uploading this! It’s very interesting. Gabrielle didn’t tell me about all this.

    Like

    Comment by Gisele | February 13, 2010 | Reply

  4. I am trying to locate the Barnaby Family side. I do have quite a research history and maybe there are some you might want. I possess the actual obituary. The ancestor I want to check out was given as a parent which was not. Susan known as Mary Susan Gates married October 21,1849 to William Barnaby 1825-1877 she has a birth date in 1832 and died in 1915 the year the Chronicle Herald in Halifax burnt. This caused a temporary set up and was the week of her death. The statement in the notification of a temporary work site was stated and other researchers were surprised there team did not locate this.

    When going into the research I found Doctors, Lawyers and Judges in the local Kings County area in Nova Scotia,Canada.

    In visiting and going to the funerals I feel the incorrect parents names are intentional. I feel birth defects and would not want this published. There are obvous other reasons.

    Susan was in her late thirties when widowed. The name Freeman came up and also a Brenton M. Barnaby Sept 10,1867 born in Pine Woods where that is I do not know. Other children were born in that locality and not one had the Brenton M. Barnaby child until I came by it this month.She had 10 children and the one buried at there gravesite was Parker F. born June 6,1875 drowned in 1906 and Born in Cornwallis which is Annapolis County but it states Kings, Nova Scotia. Wiliam C. Barnaby and Mary Susan Gates October 21,1855 recorded or records sent in through our internet sources.

    Harvie or Harvey married one of the descendants and they gave the wrong death parents in which I have in my possession.
    Annie married Edwarnd D. Titley Born 1882 Lowell Mass. son of Edwarn and Mary Titley. Married information published in the Kings County paper I do have a copy of.
    Mabel married Gordon Arnold of Kentville I do have the OB but not the month or year on the OB.
    Grace married I.C.Rockwell lived in Saint John but like the other sisters she died in a nursing home in Annapolis County.OB also I have
    Elsie married A.V.Dempsey from Morden,Kings County, Acel died 1961 and Elsie died 1975 born 1890.OB also I have
    Helen married Willliam Margeson lived in Kentville, Kings County and was buried in Elm Grove Cemetery, Steam Mill, Kentville Kings County.OB als I have
    Daisy———married—–Arthur Harvey or Harvie or C.B. Harvey lived in Truro Nova Scotia. This and Annie are not located as deceased but have information seeking information on the death of the parents that listed these as there children or foster children.
    sons were two and the obituaries cannot by gone by nor do the parents or sisters names show as all but did give me years to research to locate the death year of the sisters and the obituaries of the sisters all but two. Spellings of names were completely wrong.

    Hopefully you can look into these sisters Daisy and Annie Barnahy that married and were not in contact with the other sisters.

    There is another Daisy in Aylmer Ontario but she married a Burgess unless I read his middle name as a surname(Laurie Burgess of Chipman Corner Cemetery area Kings County,Nova Scotia.

    Thankyou and also there were sisters and brothers that predeceased these sisters that I located on the Cemetery locations. Harvey or Harvie I have some and the Elm Grove Cemetery in a burisl location leading to the Barnaby relatives I am seeking.

    Thankyou

    Note from Evelyn: Answered privately.

    Like

    Comment by Harvey or Harvie maiden name Barnaby living in Truro area Nova Scotia Canada | July 10, 2010 | Reply

  5. I read with great interest the fact thqt you, too have found English ancestors in your family tree.
    My family of Collins disappeared in Canada. My grandfather was Charles Oscar Collin – born 1877 in Canada, moved to Worchester, Mass. where he married my good Acadian grandmother – Isabella Marie Cormier in 1898.
    His parents were Charles E. and Matilda Morin Collins. Matilda is another good old Acadian name. Charles E. death certificate lists his parents as Benjamin and Anna Young Collins. Benjamin from England and Anna from Scotland. It is hard to say whether these hints are correct or not, but the information was given by their children, so I assume they would have to know where their parents came from, but who knows.
    I have had no luck tracing this family and would greatly appreciate any help.

    Like

    Comment by Sandra Stearns | November 10, 2010 | Reply

  6. Dear Gabrielle,

    I am your second-cousin on the Harvey side of life. I was pleasantly surprised to see a wedding picture of my mom (Vera) and Dad (Hank). Your grand-dad (Sydney) is beside my mom’s sister (Lil Beall) and my cousin (Marlene Demers). Glad to see you are chasing down our family’s history. Are you planning to document our ancestors? Please keep in touch!

    Billy

    Like

    Comment by william harvey | April 24, 2011 | Reply

  7. I’am the son of Leslie Herbert Barnaby son of Carlyle Rodney Barnaby son of George Herbert Barnaby son William Chipman Barnaby and Mary Susan Gates.I would love to have any research on the Barnaby’s.I’am starting to do a family tree and not to shore what I’am getting into.

    Like

    Comment by rodney barnaby | April 28, 2011 | Reply

  8. my name is david harvey and my grandfather was gordon harvey, i believe born in montreal in 1896. it is possilbe that huis father was charlie harvey.
    gordon was married to lia chartrand.
    do you have any info?

    Note from Evelyn: Answered privately

    Like

    Comment by david harvey | July 4, 2011 | Reply

  9. Just a quick question, concerning the ancestorial line of your Harvey’s? We have a Harvey line that immigrated from Austria and came to Manitoba in the late 1800’s to early 1900’s. One of the children, Henry Harvey (1891 Austria -1971 Canada) married (1915 Winnipeg, Canada) my aunt, Anna Duczek (1891 Austria – 1991 Canada)

    Like

    Comment by William Duchie | July 28, 2011 | Reply


Leave a Reply

