A Canadian Family

Genealogy & Vintage Postcards

“Baton de Vieillesse”

Yesterday I published my only  Vintage Easter Postcard, so  today I thought I would share the “Baton de vieillesse” which I associate with the tender and loving feelings of Easter  – though it was sent at Christmas!

Text on front of card:

Baton de Vieillesse

Si tu desirais un grog chaud,

Pres de toi j’ai mis ce qu’il faut.

Technical Notes:

This card was published by Editions Bergeret,  Pinsonneault, agent general, Trois Rivieres. The postmark (see below) seems to read December 24, 1917.  If you are new to vintage postcards, a notation on the back will interest you. It indicates that not all foreign (non-CDN) countries allow writing on the back!  And in fact, some of my oldest Qubec cards such as this one of the Victoria Bridge.

This postcard was addressed to a Mdme. J. Lamoureux who lived at 985 St-Andre in Montreal.

According to Lovell’s Montreal Directory, Joseph  Lamoureux was a tailor.

The postcard was sent by a Mr. and Mrs. F.X. Ouellette.

April 2, 2010 - Posted by | .

16 Comments »

  1. Interesting story. You did some nice detective work. On several of my vintage postcards, people have written at the front side, below the photo, but I have never seen such a warning before. Happy PFF.

    Comment by Bob of Holland | April 2, 2010 | Reply

  2. Very cool.

    Comment by irene | April 2, 2010 | Reply

  3. It’s a very sweet car-and timeless.

    Comment by Christine | April 2, 2010 | Reply

  4. Well, maybe it’s not a sweet CAR, but it’s certainly a sweet CARD. Oops.

    Comment by Christine | April 2, 2010 | Reply

  5. I love the look on their faces, too–VERY appropriate for the lovely family holiday of Easter.

    Comment by Beth | April 2, 2010 | Reply

  6. Dear Evelyn,
    Thank you for visiting my blog! It means a great deal to me when others connect to one of my poems or verses. To think one of them worthy of being brought forth to a class has taken my breath away! I am humbled and deeply honored!

    I would be most curious of your students views of my poem … and I would greatly love to see the outcome of their masks!!

    Have a fabulous weekend and enjoy the colors of Spring!

    Comment by Paula Laurens | April 2, 2010 | Reply

  7. Howdy Evelyn
    Happy PFF to you .
    What a fabulous choice.
    Yes this shows the love that is celebrated at Easter time !
    I was also fascinated by the information
    that you shared with us.
    What a great researcher you are 🙂
    Thank you so very much.
    Happy Easter to you .
    Until next time
    Happy Trails

    Comment by Terry | April 2, 2010 | Reply

  8. Very handy indeed to have a warming kettle of hot grog, cute card.

    Comment by Joy | April 2, 2010 | Reply

  9. I love this card!!

    Comment by southwestarkie | April 2, 2010 | Reply

  10. Help–I don’t know French. I tried translating “Baton de vieillesse” but got “Baton retirement.”

    Happy Easter & PFF!

    Comment by postcardy | April 2, 2010 | Reply

  11. Ilove the fabrics on this card, from the girl’s dress, to the table linens, to the mother’s blouse. Fun!

    Happy Easter~!

    Comment by Mary | April 2, 2010 | Reply

  12. What a beautiful postcard this is! It is probably my favorite of all the postcards you have shared.

    Comment by Wendy Hawksley | April 2, 2010 | Reply

  13. Beautiful and timeless indeed!
    The details are all fascinating – the blouse, the kettle, the linens, the girl’s dress, and oh — is the grandmother doing some kind of knitting or sewing? I also love the expression on the girl’s face =)

    Comment by Postcards Crossing | April 2, 2010 | Reply

  14. So dear and tender in their poses. A very special card.

    Comment by Linda | April 2, 2010 | Reply

  15. Beautiful card… I love the child having tea with her elder.

    Comment by Lyneen | April 3, 2010 | Reply

  16. Wow, I learned something new today! I had no idea there were times and areas where writing wasn’t allowed on the backs of postcards! I had noticed occasional old cards with writing on the front but not the back … now I know why!

    Comment by Clytie | April 3, 2010 | Reply


Leave a Reply

