A Canadian Family

Genealogy and Vintage Postcards

Index: Families of Kahnawake – A Genealogy Series

The Canadiens

1. Jean Baptiste Raientonni CANADIEN (Big John) & Malvina MCCOMBER of Kahnawake

2. Jean Baptiste Raientonni CANADIEN (Big John) & Malvina MCCOMBER of Kahnawake

Historical Document: Jean Baptiste Raientonni Canadien & Malvina Mccomber

Historical Document: Jean Baptiste Raintonni Canadien (aka Big John), burial

The Delisles

Francois-Xavier Kaneraktatie Delisle & Marie-Anne Kakwirahes Leborgne of Kahnawake

Joseph Tiiawekate Kanenho Delisle & Marie Tionahose Capitaine

The Halls

Thomas Sarenhes Hall (Akwesasne) & Maryanne Kanerahtakwas McGregor (Kahnawake)

Caughnawaga (Kahnawake) Surnames: Iroquois, Native American & European

The Staceys

Jean Baptiste Karontarirhon Stacey & Rosine Rice of Caughnawaga/Kahnawake (1/4)

Jean Baptiste Karontarirhon Stacey & Rosine Rice of Caughnawaga (2/4) | Rice Burial Record

Jean Baptiste Karontarirhon Stacey & Rosine Rice of Caughnawaga (3/4) | Sons: Louis m. Maggie Rice, Frank m. Cecile Jocks, Ignace m. Therese Dailleboust, Jacques Alex. m. Fabiane Perras

Jean Baptiste Karontarirhon Stacey & Rosine Rice of Caughnawaga (4/4) | Overview


see also

The Iroquois of Kahnawaka – A General Index

August 9, 2010 - Posted by | . | ,

22 Comments »

  1. do the names paul langevin or (janeau) matilda dagenais………..sound familiar to anyone……six nations reservation..shefford , roxton falls………thats all the information i have. thanks
    tammy

    Corresponding by email

    Comment by tammy | October 13, 2010 | Reply

  2. Looking for Angele’ Martin.married 1869 to Louis Charest from Kahnawake.Brother Peter.Frank Natawe Curotte (ceremonial man for the 207 Longhouse.passed away 10 yrs ago.)was his great grandson of Peter.Daughter Elizabeth Curotte-Ryder corresponds with me through facebook.When I can go to the 207 with Arisawe.

    Comment by Diane woods | November 30, 2010 | Reply

  3. I am looking for birth & family info on my aunt named (Married name), Minnie Martin. She married my uncle Charles Albert Martin about 1922. She was born about 1900. Their daughter (MT?) Irene Martin born 2/11/23 possibly in St. Alexis Quebec. Minnie was said to be an Indian, Mohawk?

    Comment by Charles A. Martin | April 12, 2011 | Reply

    • my grandmothers favorite cousin was a minnie martin, who lived in quebec eastern townships. i have photos of minnie(beautiful victorian) w/ her sister. have been trying to find out more info about martins. my maternal g-grandmother was Louella caroline”carrie”martin of stanstead, qb. any info would be appreciated.

      Note from Evelyn: Answered privately

      Comment by cherry | July 4, 2011 | Reply

  4. Looking for Iroquois ties to the families of Paul Thibodeau, Benjamin Chaloux, Marie Parent, and Claire Yelle. All lived in St. Jean Chrysostome PQ in the early 1800’s.

    Thanks

    Comment by Ted Kessler | April 28, 2011 | Reply

  5. hello,
    My name is andy downes and I was born in thetford mines que. in 1942 ,I was brought to windsor in 1945 and have been here ever since,my older brother Walter whom is 72 now was also born there in 1943 ,as was my other brother Jean Guy 1n 1945..
    My mother told me that Iwas born in OKA,,,I and my brothers were baptized at St.Alohonsus church.I have being doing research now for at least 25 yrs trying to find my grandmother Leda Dodier whom my mother said was native,My mother’s name Mathilda Irene Lessard.My mother said her brother used to hide in St,Regis when he shot a police sheriff,must take after him.
    ANDRE Robert Ives Downes

    Note from Evelyn: see http://wp.me/pp92w-bxk

    Comment by Andre Downes | July 29, 2011 | Reply

  6. A couple people here are looking for more info on Martin’s. I have a Polly Martin born 1766 and died in St. Albans, VT April 25, 1855. She was married to Richard Whittemore who was born in 1768 in Salem, MA and died in St Albans, VT on Jan. 4, 1805. Polly apparently didn’t remarry as she is buried in the Whittemore plot in St Alban’s, Calvary cemetery. I have tried in vain to find Polly’s ancestors. The closest I come is on a census in which a man by the name of Knott Martin COULD have been her father.

    If anyone knows of this Martin family please contact me…. Thank you, Lynn

    Comment by Lynn | November 20, 2011 | Reply

  7. looking for desendents of frank thawenrate stacey married cecile jocks karakwentha they had a daughters called gladys parent have pic of them judy rice toffol

    Comment by judy rice toffoli | July 3, 2012 | Reply

  8. Anyone have any on the Saucier tree?

    Comment by Ashleigh | August 3, 2013 | Reply

    • Nothing comes to mind. Did you have reason to believe you have Sauciers in Kahnawake?

      Comment by Evelyn Yvonne Theriault | August 3, 2013 | Reply

      • In the past yes, I have been doing ancestry research like crazy, my fiancee’s family are native american, his grandparents and his father are all full blooded, they are Mohawk. His grandfather & great grandfather and their families lived there. My fiancee’s mother’s side I know aren’t Mohawk, they are Blackfoot (Picard’s), so I’m mainly focusing on finding the records from the reservation or finding anything that can help show proof of residency from his grandparents and great grandparents. I do have the ancestry tree practically done, and do know even your last name I have seen in there through marriage. Thank you for replying, hope this helps some..

        Comment by Ashleigh | August 4, 2013 | Reply

  9. Hello again,
    If you have questions about a specific couple then I’ll be happy to help out.
    Evelyn

    Comment by Evelyn Yvonne Theriault | August 4, 2013 | Reply

  10. Hello Evelyn! I am back. I am looking into Claude Nicolas Oronhiatekha DeLorimier and his wife Anne Skawennetsi McGregor. their daughter Louise DeLorimier married into my Desparois..Louis Pierre Desparois.. their son Louis married Apolline Desjeans.. Their daughter Marie (Odile) married my Antoine Poirier who would be my Great Grand parents. Can you give me any insight into Anne Skawennetsi McGregor?? Many Thanks, Marj

    Comment by Marjorie Poirier Thibeault | March 28, 2014 | Reply

  11. Hello Evelyn, The pest is back! I am still trying to prove my line through my Desparois dit Champagne. I am so curious whether I have native for certain in my line. Give me any pointer?? Many thanks!! Marj

    Comment by Marjorie Poirier Thibeault | November 12, 2014 | Reply

  12. Happy New Year Evelyn! I am still in pursuit of my Desparois line which in part is in Kahnawake, Quebec. I would like to prove my native line to Anne Skawennetsi McGregor. Trying to document for my genealogy records. Thank your for your time. Marjorie

    Comment by Marjorie Poirier Thibeault | January 1, 2015 | Reply

  13. Trying to find any information of my mother’s parents that were from the reservation in the 1920’s last name was Woodford. I never knew my grandparents they had passed before my birth in 1963. My mother’s name was lucky star. Any information would be appreciated.

    Comment by Dale | September 18, 2015 | Reply

  14. My name is Tim LaCroix. The earliest records I can find on my ancestry come from Mackinaw Island, Michigan with Francis LaCroix. His father married a woman by the name of Angelique. I cannot find anything further back from that. This was during the early 1800s. Francis LaCroix was born in the late 1700s. Any assistance would be greatly appreciated.

    Comment by Tim LaCroix | January 6, 2016 | Reply

  15. I am looking to find birth records of one Adelia Antoine, born April 23, 1859 in New York USA. Her father’s name was John Antoine and his wife Arilla Antoine. I know she lived in Cornwall Ontario as an adult, but I am unable to traceher back any further. Any help would be much appreciated. Thanks.
    Sonia Begg
    Fort Saskatchewan Alberta

    Comment by Sonia Begg | March 13, 2016 | Reply

  16. I am trying to find a connection to John Jocks or possibly Jacques, or last name McDonald
    Also possible family member of chief Don Eagle.
    Any ideas?

    Comment by Glenn McDonald | May 1, 2016 | Reply

  17. I’m searching for family history and hopefully photos of my great great great grandmother and her lineage. Her name is Marie Anne Chipakighokwe and married Laurent Brown July 2 1803. I’m hoping to find her history of where she was born and her parentage before marriage. She married in Oka, Kanestake

    Comment by andrea martin | May 14, 2016 | Reply


Leave a Reply

