A Canadian Family

Genealogy & Vintage Postcards

German Quebecker Michel Franck m. Appoline Dick (Gresse)

Query from Deborah:

I am looking for more on my German-Quebec roots. Our surname is Franck but I have seen it written as Frank and Franc. I have a transcription from the Register of Baptisms and Marriages from the Paroisse de Notre-Dame de Liesse de la Riviere-Ouelle, 1787 which describes the marriage of Michel Franc of Germany, son of Andre Franc and Catherine Cauneum and Marie Francoise Gauthier of Riviere-Ouelle, daughter of Pierre Gauthier and Marie Francoise Bilodeau.
I descend from Michel Franc’s second marriage to Marie-Appoline Dick-Gresse (?). I wonder if you are able to provide further direction on where I can search further for Michel’s origins and why he came to Quebec.

Answer

I don’t have a definite answer for you but the dates do fit with the story of the first Germans who came to Quebec as mercenaries. Your ancestor may be one of those who stayed behind. I wrote a short introduction about this here –

Sprechen Sie Deutsch? The “Secret” Germans of Quebec

And Their Part in Repelling the American Invasion of Canada

The following is a definitive English language source for the period but I haven’t read it and don’t know if there is information there for you as this is not one of my focus areas.

Demarce, Virginia Easley (1984) The Settlement of Former German Auxiliary Troops in Canada After the American Revolution Publisher: Lost in Canada ISBN 978-0916849023.

Another useful search term would be “Quebec Hessians”.




October 23, 2010 - Posted by | .

2 Comments »

  1. Please email me direct regarding the Theriault Family.
    Thank You

    Comment by Cheryl | November 1, 2010 | Reply

    • Cheryl,

      You left a comment on my post on November 1. Please let me know if this is meant for my query, or the answer posted by Evelyn.
      Thank you.

      Comment by Deborah | November 2, 2010 | Reply


Leave a Reply

