A Canadian Family

Genealogy & Vintage Postcards

Lineage of Joseph Albert Laval Theriault of the Sayabec Therriaults

An enquiry from Rene Swan (Theriault)

” On my father’s side I am French, Irish and Mí’kmaq. I am also certain I have family in St. John’s Newfoundland and even went on souljourn there. I may get vertigo on a swing, but I ran to the sea and my sail from North Sydney Nova Scotia to Port aux Basques Newfoundland was wonderful and familiar to me, as was the return sail homeward bound to my Dear Lorraine! … So for a multitude of reasions, I celebrate that I am a Theriault.

I’m known in the music industry as René Swan, and have been since I was 15. By the way, on my mother’s side, it is documented that my third great uncle was Danish children’s author, Hans Christian Andersen. Question: Can you explore the possibility of any connection between Nicole (Theriault, the singer) and I and or any other relatives I may have out there?

Information

Jehan Theriault &  Perrine Rau

Claude Theriault & Marie Gautreault

Germain Theriault & Anne Richard 1686

Claude Theriault &  Marguerite Cormier

(I descend from Claude’s brother Joseph & Marguerite Melanson)

Paul Theriault & Anne Hebert

Jean Jacques Theriault &  Magdeleine Grandmaison

Joseph Theriault & Josephte Vaillancourt

David Theriault & Christine Gueret

Elzear Theriault & Anna  Litalien (daughter-Louis L’Italien/Anastasie Dumas)

Jean Baptiste Therriault & Marie Antoinette Vachet (daughter of Francois Vachet and Maria Lyman)

On February 12th, 1923 in Notre Dame du Lac (Temiscouata, Quebec)

Their children were:

1.Joseph Jean Marc Therriault (born April 29th, 1924 in St Honore (Riviere-du-Loup)

2.Joseph Albert Laval Theriault (born May 27th, 1932)

3. Georgette Theriault

(m. Elisee Roussel (daughter of Wilfrid Roussel/M.Anne Fraser)

on October 28th, 1953 in St Nom De Marie parish in Sayabec, Matapedia

October 23, 2010 - Posted by | . |

1 Comment »

  1. Thank You for working on this so diligently for me Evelyn. You have been a wonderful help! You’re very good at researching genealogy! Our ancestors history is a powerful and poigant story of a people who have struggled and fought against mans inhumanity against man. Yet, we Acadians are a strong and passionate people, with a love for life! And our survival is the proof of that! I will never forget the price our ancestors paid for honour.And for that, and so much more- I honour them…

    René Swan Theriault

    Comment by René Theriault "René Swan" | October 23, 2010 | Reply


Leave a Reply

