A Canadian Family

Genealogy & Vintage Postcards

Do you have Acadian/French Canadian Roots In Lorraine?

I came across a new site  the other day when blogger Jim McNeill left a comment at Old Fashioned Holidays. Jim’s blog is called Social history in the Touraine ~ Central |France and I thought it might interest those of  you with roots in that area – or those who just enjoy reading about local histories.  Here is Jim’s description of his blog.

“This blog is all about more unorthodox takes on the social history of the Touraine. Feel free to suggest areas of research and discussion – and please add your comments as you see fit. I’ll be pleased to add links to your site if appropriate. About me: I live in the hamlet of Le Chatelier (see below) in the commune of Paulmy in the South Touraine 37. I moved there from Bristol, UK in 2008 along with my wife, Sandra.”

December 17, 2010 - Posted by | .

2 Comments »

  1. Thank you so much for creating the link….there have been three visitors from your site already

    Comment by Jim McNeill | December 17, 2010 | Reply

  2. Dear all
    Since Evelyn kindly added the link to my blog on the Social History of the Touraine, France I know that many of you have visited my site at http://jimmcneill.wordpress.com

    So, I was wondering, do any of you have French family histories you would like to share? What was it that encouraged/motivated individuals and families to take the difficult, perhaps emotional step to emigrate to Canada? What difficulties did they encounter. Do pass on any stories and I’ll get back to you!
    Kind regards from Central France.
    Jim McNeill

    Comment by Jim McNeill | December 30, 2010 | Reply


Leave a Reply

