A Canadian Family

Genealogy & Vintage Postcards

A Mazerolle Descendant’s Notes about Shippegan’s Cafe Royale (New Brunswick)

Some time ago I published a vintage postcard of the historic  Cafe Royale of Shippegan

and some follow-up comments by Phil Thibodeau (Cafe Royale “the best fish meal … cod in cornmeal”).

Today I’m really happy to share some follow-up comments by Ray Manzerolle – grandson of Willie P. and Yvonne Manzerolle (former proprietors).

Here are Ray’s comments:

“It was a nice surprise to stumble upon this photograph.
The Cafe Royal was owned and operated by my grandfather Willie P. Manzerolle and his wife Yvonne. The photo was most likely taken by my grand father, he owned a postcard taking box camera. He also operated a bakery in the rear of the building which at one time furnished the entire region with bake goods.

The restaurant was divided into two sides. One side was casual dining, serving burgers, shakes etc, very popular with teenagers. The other side was more formal with fine dinning. As a kid  I recall that they made a killer lobster clubhouse sandwich.

When visiting my grand parents, we would stay upstairs in one on the 4 or 5 boarding rooms that were no longer being rented. The building still exists, although it has been converted entirely into apartments. Good memories.”

New comments!

I was in Shippegan in 1953 (I think that was the year). I was up to attend Willie’s daughter’s graduation Theresa. I remember the place well as I stayed in one of the rooms up above the store. My name is Theresa Yvonne Manzerolle Henderson. My mother was Willie’s sister Yvonne married to John Edward Henderson.

December 22, 2010 - Posted by | . | ,

5 Comments »

  1. How wonderful! I always love it when someone with personal knowledge about a postcard or photo comments on it and brings it to life.

    Comment by Christine | December 22, 2010 | Reply

  2. I was in shippegan in 1953(I think that was the year) I was up to attend willies daughters graduation theresa I remember the place well as I stayed in one of the rooms up above the store
    My name is Theresa Yvonne manzerolle Henderson my mother was willies sister Yvonne married john Edward henderson

    Comment by theresa henderson | September 20, 2013 | Reply

  3. My aunt Eugénie Mallet worked there for many years 🙂

    Comment by Linda Chamberland | January 23, 2014 | Reply

  4. Was a long time ago, and remember playing a Hard Days Night , over ans over on the juke box and then going back over to the formal dining side , to sit with my grandmother and grandfather, was an awesome place.

    Comment by Ken Rogers | January 23, 2014 | Reply

  5. remember it very well .this was the place to be at all time . .Raoul was one of my teacher .thanks for the memories

    Comment by francine gauvin | January 23, 2014 | Reply


Leave a Reply

