A Canadian Family

Genealogy and Vintage Postcards

Some Deerfoots (aka Dearfoot) of Caughnawaga | Kahnawake

Mary Deerfoot was my great aunt, her sister Cecila was my grandmother, my Mother’s name is Ida Deerfoot Roberts ( Meador ) My sister Elaine worked at the Community House in NY. I am looking for any information on my family and great grandfather, John Deerfoot. I will be visiting the museum labor day weekend 2011 & would like to meet with you. Sincerely yours, Jean (Deerfoot) Kraus

This family in the 1901 and 1911 census appears to be the one that you are looking for.

1. In 1911, Jean Deerfoot (b.1846) was living in Caughnawaga with his children –

Francois Deerfoot (b. 1874) and his wife Marie (b.1882)

Pierre Deerfoot (b.1876) and his wife Louise (b.1887)

Cecille Deerfoot (b.1884)  m??

Ida Deerfoot (b.1901)

as well as Jean’s cousin Louis Deer (b.1856)

2. Ten years earlier,  John Dearfoot (b.1843) had been living in Caughnawaga with his wife Anny (b.1850) and their children –

Peter Dearfoot (b.1877)

Cecilia Dearfoot (b.1884)

Frank Dearfoot (b.1875) and his wife Mary (b.1883)

as well as their daughter  Mary Deerfoot (1879) and her husband Laurent Kaionweio Canadien (b.1879).

Laurent and Mary had a child – Louise Canadien.

Note 1. Laurent and Marie Kanatison were married in St-Francois-Xavier Parish on Jauary 29th, 1900.

Note 2. Laurent died accidentally in New York  and was buried on the 22nd of May 1929 in Caughnawaga. His wife Marie Kanatison Deerfoot.

More Deerfoots of Caughnawaga

November 19, 2011 - Posted by | . |

9 Comments »

  1. Thank you Evelyn for the information you found. I know you have been in contact with my daughter also, we spoke about this again tonight. Trying to figure out why my great grandfathers name was spelled Dearfoot instead of Deerfoot, but then I realized the cenus was first written in french then translated into english. I know my daughter submitted a photo of her great grandmother, my grandmother. I can also submit photos of our family. Once again thank you for your research. Jean Kraus (Deerfoot lineage)

    Comment by Jean Kraus | May 4, 2012 | Reply

    • Hello Jean,
      Spellings are extremely fluid in early Quebec registers. It is part of the fun of doing genealogy and is one reason why building the family line can be so challenging. You will have noticed that there is a couple mentioned on the front page that may well be the couple you are looking for. I am going to continue searching however I suspect a lot of the information is on the American side and I do not have access to those databases.
      If no one replies to the posting we make this weekened then I’ll direct you to some other forums where you might get help.
      Good luck,
      Evelyn

      Comment by Evelyn Yvonne Theriault | May 4, 2012 | Reply

  2. hi my grt grt grt grandfather was t deer rice born 1748 died 1752 would deer mean deerfield judy rice toffoli

    Comment by judy rice toffoli | May 4, 2012 | Reply

  3. My great grandmother’s name is Ida and she married Thomas Morris. Both were from Caughnawaga and they both lived there They had a daughter named Vivian Annie Deer Morris. I’m wondering if Vivian was named after her grandmother? If so, then this census record would be my great great grandparents.

    Comment by Andrew | June 17, 2012 | Reply

    • This means we are related

      Comment by Jean Deerfoot Kraus | June 17, 2012 | Reply

      • I am just taking a shot in the dark with guessing that my grandmother (Vivian) was given her middle names as a variation of her grandmother’s name. I could be totally wrong, but do you have a Tom/Ida/Vivian in your family tree?

        Comment by Andrew | June 18, 2012 | Reply

        • My grandmother’s sister was Ida and her husband was Tom

          Comment by Jean (Deerfoot) Kraus | June 19, 2012 | Reply

          • That’s awesome. Send me an email at andrewsfm at hotmail dot com so we can exchange information.

            Comment by Andrew | June 19, 2012

  4. Evelyn, you can give Andrew my email. And thank you for all the great info. May the Great Spirit watch over and protect you.

    Comment by Jean (Deerfoot) Kraus | June 18, 2012 | Reply


Leave a Reply

