A Canadian Family

Natives, French Canadians, Acadians

Evelyn in Montreal: Ascendancy of Louis Vincent (m. Chevrefils, Marie Eulalie) | Pt.2

1881

As a follow-up to the previously published  ascendancy of Louis Vincent (m. Chevrefils, Marie Eulalie), this would appear to be the household of your great-great grandparents Seraphin Vincent and Henriette Lacoste in Ste-Urbain. (Chateauguay) in 1881. I would suggest that the married couple that is living with them is probably their  son Louis Vincent and daughter-in-law Marie Eulalie Chevrefils.

 Name  Marital Status Gender Ethnic Origin Age Birthplace Occupation Religion
 Seraphin VINCENT  M  Male  Canadian  63  Quebec  Cultivateur  Catholique
 Henriette VINCENT  M  Female  Canadian  61  Quebec  Catholique
 Delphine VINCENT  Female  Canadian  39  Quebec  Catholique
 Louis VINCENT  M  Male  Canadian  33  Quebec  Cultivateur  Catholique
 Marie VINCENT  M  Female  Canadian  26  Quebec  Catholique
 Hormida VINCENT  Male  Canadian  26  Quebec  Cultivateur  Catholique
 Cleophas VINCENT  Male  Canadian  22  Quebec  Cultivateur  Catholique
 Marie VINCENT  Female  Canadian  4  Quebec  Catholique
 Zulma VINCENT  Female  Canadian  1  Quebec  Catholique

1871

Seraphin Vincent and Desanges Riendeau in the 1851 census in St-Antoine (Longueuil).


Note from Nicole Vincent 🙂

“Hi Evelyn….

I see you are working diligently on your page. I am very proud of you for that! In reference to Louis Vincent and Marie Chevrefils…we had DNA done 2 years ago, on my brother and my uncle. There is not an ounce of French in our Vincents. We are Huron and Scottish. That just means, I have to start over at square one. Church records are never going to help us, as they are clearly fabricated, and there are no records of our Vincents in Quebec Vital Statistics.

Since we know our last known location, as Hurons, was Kahnawake…… I was snooping around all Kahnawake related websites.”

 

Related Posts

French Canadian Pioneers | The Lacostes of Quebec

Index: Evelyn in Montreal

February 11, 2012 - Posted by | . | , , , ,

6 Comments »

  1. Hi Evelyn,

    Just thought you should know that Desanges Riendeau (Reguindeau) was never married to Seraphin Vincent. She was married to Louis Chartier,according to the PRDH. And since I have never succeeded in finding any proof of a marriage to Seraphin, I’m going to have to go along with them.

    Nicky

    Note: Thanks for the comment – I have published it here and will take a second look at this next weekend.

    Like

    Comment by Nicky | November 6, 2012 | Reply

    • Hello again Nicky,
      If you check the post above I have added a copy of the record that I believe relates to this family.
      Thank you again for your initial comment and I look forward to any further feedback if I am mistaken.
      Evelyn

      Like

      Comment by Evelyn Yvonne Theriault | December 9, 2012 | Reply

      • Hi Evelyn….

        I see you are working diligently on your page. I am very proud of you for that! In reference to Louis Vincent and Marie chevrefils…we had DNA done 2 years ago, on my brother and my uncle. There is not an ounce of French in our Vincents. We are Huron and Scottish. That just means, I have to start over at square one. Church records are never going to help us, as they are clearly fabricated, and there are no records of our Vincents in Quebec Vital Statistics.

        Since we know our last known location, as Hurons, was Kahnawake…… I was snooping around all Kahnawake related websites.

        Like

        Comment by Nicole Vincent | August 2, 2017 | Reply

        • Hello,
          Thanks for your kind comments.
          I’ve published your comment above in the box, however a question came to mind.
          Was your DNA testing able to identify not only the Native-related genes but also to identify it specifically to the Huron nation, or do you mean that the DNA indicates Native heritage and your paper trail leads back to Hurons?
          Forgive me if you you’ve already told me all this information but I lost a lot of old files when my previous computer crashed 😦
          Evelyn

          Like

          Comment by Evelyn Yvonne Theriault | August 3, 2017 | Reply

  2. They were able to match it to the Mantle Huron…which they thought was weird since we’re all suppose to be dead!

    Like

    Comment by Nicole Vincent | August 7, 2017 | Reply

  3. Another question. Have you ever heard of Louis Soriowana from Grand Park (Big Fence). He was expelled from Kahnawake by the chiefs in Nov. 1881, according to Daniel Rueck who wrote a document on Kahnawake Time Line in 2012. I have sent Daniel an email, but not sure if the email address is still valid. This Louis is of interest to me, because this guy gets expelled in Nov of 1881, but they ask DIA to help him move. My Louis shows up in Manitoba in Jan. of 1882. Why a man would move his family of…I think it was six at that point, to MB in January has always left me scratching my head. I don’t know if they are the same person, but he’s definitely peaked my curiosity.

    Like

    Comment by Nicole Vincent | August 7, 2017 | Reply


Leave a Reply

