A Canadian Family

Genealogy and Vintage Postcards

Welcome – Soyez Les Bienvenus!

Note to readers: I’m presently winding down my teaching career and will be back to the your enquiries in a few months. I continue to publish comments in case you’re able to help each other in the meantime. Best of luck with your research till we work together again!

*

MOST POPULAR POSTS OF 2016

Indian/Native American/First Peoples Genealogy

Index: Native American Surnames of Eastern Canada Through Marriage Records 

Indexes: First Peoples

Non-Natives with connections to Kahnawake (aka Caughnawaga, Quebec)

Index: They Passed Through Kahnawà:ke (mostly French Canadian) 

Genealogy of French Canadians and Acadians

Index: Early French Canadian Pioneers

Indexes: Acadian and French-Canadian Genealogy, History and Culture

Historic Images of Eastern Canada 

Indexes: Historical Postcards

Evelyn Yvonne Theriault

April 6, 2014 - Posted by | .

33 Comments »

  1. Good evening Evelyn, I am enjoying your updates and pulling a few dates and names into my records. I have searched the 1690 battle and there is more to it then what is written. But I had to dig to find the son’s of the fathers in that battle. Even found a whole family that I did not have much on, Ouellet. Again, thank for the updates, I am enjoying your posts. Regards, Dave

    Comment by Dave Migneault/Mignot | March 5, 2010 | Reply

    • It’s great to hear that you are continuing your own research. Perhaps one day you’ll want to publish something on my site about your family research findings! If you go to the Lagace page you’ll see that Peter Lagasse has been doing that and it’s agreat way to met others who are researching the same lines or geographic area.
      For myself, I hope to be translating more of the Riviere Ouelle Parish History this summer.
      Have a nice day,
      Evelyn

      Comment by evelynyvonnetheriault | March 6, 2010 | Reply

  2. Bonjour,

    Mon nom est Christiane Ward et je crois que votre historique de Ebenezer Ward est relié à ma famille.
    Le nom de mon père était Rennie(Réné)Ward né en 1898 il était le fils de Fidèle Ward qui était marié à Agnes Béliveau, le père de Fidèle était Jasper Ward qui lui était marié à Élizabeth Dupuis.
    Avez-vous d’autres contacts de cette famille? Je vous remercie à l’avance de votre collaboration. Bonne journée

    Note from Evelyn: Answering privately

    Comment by Christiane Ward | March 6, 2010 | Reply

    • Bonjour Christiane.

      Je recherche aussi de l’information sur la famille Ward.

      Jasper et Elizabeth dupuis sont relié avec ma famille. Jasper était l’arrière grand-père de mon grand-père du coté maternelle.

      Pouvons-nous échanger de l’information par courriel? Se serait appréciée. merci

      Comment by Geneviève Beaudry | July 22, 2010 | Reply

  3. Hi Lucy,

    I just finished telling my boys about the French and Indian war and how my ancestor, Alexis Landry, founded a town called Caraquet in New Brunswick. So we googled the town and, there it was in blue and white! Thank you for all the research you must have done and for this great site.

    I have a listing of marriages to the 9th (I think) generation dating back to Alexis. So many names on here are the same.

    Thanks. I’d love to visit “home” sometime.

    Comment by Ruth Hadley | March 11, 2010 | Reply

    • Hello Ruth,
      Family history research is so much fun – and it’s great that you can share it with the next generations.
      The Caraquet area is great fun to visit.
      Evelyn

      Comment by evelynyvonnetheriault | March 11, 2010 | Reply

  4. Hi Evelyn,

    Another great job with the Festival of Postcards! I’m eager to visit all of the participating blogs.

    On another note, I love your new “splash page” as we enter your blog ;o)

    Lucie

    Comment by Lucie LeBlanc Consentino | March 15, 2010 | Reply

  5. I have given you a “Sunshine Award” and linked to your blog in my latest post at the http://vintagepostcardsrevisited.blogspot.com/2010/03/i-received-sunshine-award-i-need-some.html. You can pick up your award there.

    Comment by grace | March 17, 2010 | Reply

  6. Thanks for stopping by. I do appreciate the comment — and I was not aware my blog was being displayed elsewhere. Several contacts have a link, but I’m assuming you found the entire article? I would like to learn more, if you have a moment.

    Again, thanks for your kind words

    Comment by Phyllis Blickensderfer | March 18, 2010 | Reply

  7. Hello Evelyn, Thanks for visiting my neck of the woods. I so love this SS as it has encouraged me to dig for photos on Ancestry.com. I had a lot of info but never worried about photos, but I am finding them. My daughter married into a family named Filiatreau from Canada. Have you heard that name up there. French Canadian came into US about 6 generations ago. Just saw on your side bar FC genealogy.
    QMM

    Comment by Queenmothermamaw | March 27, 2010 | Reply

  8. Hi Evelyn.What A Great Blog You Have.Your On My List! Regards From Tony.Z.

    Comment by tony | April 1, 2010 | Reply

  9. Hi Evelyn, thanks for commenting at my Postcard Friendship post this week. I’m glad you did because now I’ve found your blog to visit! Have a Happy Holiday!🙂

    Comment by maryt/theteach | April 2, 2010 | Reply

  10. Hi Evelyn, your blog is amazing. I love it. The Post cards are great! Maybe you should take a look at my blog and give Canada your opinion on the subject of being a Quebecois in Canada or how it feels to be Canada. check out my blog and leave a comment if you want. Thanks! unitedcanada.wordpress.com

    Comment by unitedcanada | April 11, 2010 | Reply

  11. Hoping everything is all right with you and yours Evelyn. Take care.

    Comment by Sheila @ A Postcard a Day | June 4, 2010 | Reply

  12. Hi Evelyn
    Sure hope your are feeling better saying some prayers for you Evelyn

    Comment by Evelyn Nolan | June 7, 2010 | Reply

  13. Hope everything is ok Evelyn! Prayers for you.

    Comment by southwestarkie | June 14, 2010 | Reply

  14. I hope you are better now. I see you have a new post.

    I think my name should be on the list of “Festival Bloggers” in the right column.

    Comment by postcardy | July 15, 2010 | Reply

  15. Hi
    I thought visiters to this site might be interested in visiting “mapping the French Empire in North America at: http://www.newberry.org/smith/exhibits/fe/fe2.html

    Kind regards from a wet Central France,
    Jim McNeill

    Comment by Jim McNeill | December 20, 2010 | Reply

  16. Hi there Evelyn, am interested in your posting of the old Legace home in Bathurst New Brunswick.
    My first cousin’s mother was A Legacy from Bathurst. His mother Florence was married to Earl Hussey who had at least 6 children. One of whom is named Ralph Hussey. I sent him the picture of the old house at Christmas and he told me that house was his grandfathers house in St Anne’s and that his uncle also lived there. He said he had 10 cousins from that house and some of the names would be Vincent, Raymond, Bridget, Margie, Donald, Lydia. I think the house was owned by Adlard Legacy. He wanted me to contact the posting since he does not have a computer and ask if this is the right family and how he could contact any of the cousins that may still be living. Any information would be appreciated. Thanks

    Note: Corresponding privately

    Comment by Lelia Cook | January 9, 2011 | Reply

  17. Hi Evelyn, I have nominated you for the Lovely Blog Award. For details please visit:
    http://bygonedaysphotography.blogspot.com/2011/03/one-lovely-blog-award.html

    Comment by Dawn Scotting | March 6, 2011 | Reply

  18. Salut and Hello…. I myself collect old (pre-1930) post cards, mainly of my town (Welland Ont) and the canal that runs through it🙂
    Je collectionne aussi de vielles cartes postales (Avant 1930) de ma ville (Welland Ont), et du Canal qui le traverse!🙂

    M. Jolin, Welland

    Comment by Michel Jolin | January 16, 2012 | Reply

  19. Hi there,

    I found this blog through Geneabloggers.

    I’m new to genealogy blogging – just started a new genealogy blog this week – but have been doing genealogy for at least 20 years – the last 10 years seriously since I discovered the internet.

    I am a new Canadian of English and Scottish ancestry, married to a French Canadian with both Quebecois and Acadian ancestry. I have traced a number of his lines back to Nova Scotia Acadia and a couple even to France. But I also have brick walls – who doesn’t??

    I am so pleased that I have found this blog. Because this blog is about french canadian genealogy and its written in english. I’m never got around to learning any french.

    I am adding this blog to my blogroll.

    Hope to see you around.

    RobynneL

    Comment by RobynneL | February 10, 2012 | Reply

  20. Evelyn, can you tell me who the postcard (with inscription “Thanks for the grizzly bear story”) is addressed to?

    Comment by Valerie Legge | February 17, 2012 | Reply

  21. Evelyn,
    Your Canadian Family site is really great. I do have a question for you. I have found many Metis families in my line but can not find out what tribe they are from.
    I have Vincent, Tessier, Lamarre, Jacob and Lagimoniere all in my family tree.
    Do you have any idea how I can find what tribe they are from?
    Thank you in advance for any information.

    Wayne

    Note from Evelyn: Answering privately

    Comment by Wayne | March 25, 2012 | Reply

  22. Hi There
    I have been attempting to find some information on my great great grandmother Margaret Jane Brownrigg. We have always been told she was an Iroquois Indian who married a German Jew John Hart(z) upon his arrival to Canada. I have seen a picture of this women and she is clearly from native decent, but we do not know where the name Brownrigg came from it does not seem to have a native background. Margaret was born in 1846 St Jean Sur Richelieu and I have found her christening records, could she have been adopted to a white family?? Where should I be looking to get accurate information. Also I don’t mind paying someone to help me as I am not the best at this sort of research.
    Dorothy S

    Reply at: http://acanadianfamily.com/2012/09/01/john-hart-m-marguerit-brownrigg-grande-ligne-st-blaise/

    Comment by Dorothy Shier | August 21, 2012 | Reply

  23. Evelyn,
    Thank you for the most excellent research and pages you are providing! There is a post regarding Chartrand: I wonder if you have the copy of the picture mentioned in the replies to the post! I would be ever so grateful to receive a copy. Your research also provided me the answers to long sought information. Thank you again!
    here is the copy of the post and information thank you LA Dumas
    Evelyn in Montreal: Chartrand m. Thibault, 1825

    M. Bassett was researching the Magloire Chartrand who married Nancy Derby in Alymer Quebec in the mid 19th century.

    Information
    Jean Baptiste Chartrand (son of Francois Chartrand & Marie Labelle) married Josette Thibault (daughter of Pierre Thibault & Marie Monique Mathieu) in Sainte Therese on April 18th, 1825. Sainte Therese is located in Terrebonne, Quebec and the name of the parish was Ste-Therese-d’Avila.

    Henry Minor married Marie Louise Chartrand on October 13th, 1884 in Aylmer, Quebec in the parish of St-Paul. His parents were Antoine Minor and Elizabeth Dore. Her parents were Magloire Chartrand and Anna Derby.
    1.Found a picture of Magloire Chartrand in my mother’s pictures.
    It is In Memory of type of picture.

    Just wondered where he fits in… My grandmother was Adrienne Boivin Bédard.

    Huguette

    Evelyn in Montreal: Answered by email.
    Note to Evelyn: my great greandparents were Magloire Chartrand who married Nancy Derby; LA

    Comment by LA Dumas | October 8, 2012 | Reply

    • Greetings!
      When I have a moment I will try and contact Huguette directly. I have her email but of course can’t share it without her express permission.
      I will get back to you with an answer when I get one.
      Evelyn

      Comment by Evelyn Yvonne Theriault | October 8, 2012 | Reply

      • Thank you so much! Hopefully we shall have an answer soon, because of this post I am now in touch with Marie Louises great grandson!

        Comment by LA Dumas | November 6, 2012 | Reply

  24. Hello,

    I just stumbled across this blog, searching for family history. There is an old family legend that my great x3 (or maybe 4) grand father married a “Flat Head” Indian, who died giving birth to their 12th child. Her husband would have been Joseph Beauvais, from Eastern Canada, who was related to a man named Francois Xavier Beauvais.

    Are these names which ring any bells with you, and would you know which nation I might be able to find more information about?

    Best,
    -Zach beauvais

    Comment by Zach Beauvais | December 12, 2012 | Reply

  25. Hello,

    I just stumbled across this blog, searching for family history. There is an old family legend that my great x3 (or maybe 4) grand father married a “Flat Head” Indian, who died giving birth to their 12th child. Her husband would have been Joseph Beauvais, from Eastern Canada, who was related to a man named Francois Xavier Beauvais.

    Are these names which ring any bells with you, and would you know which nation I might be able to find more information about?

    Best,
    -Zach beauvais

    Comment by Zach Beauvais | December 12, 2012 | Reply

    • Francois-Xavier as a first name and Beauvais as a last name are certainly common to Kahnawake. I will reply by email for more information.

      Comment by Evelyn Yvonne Theriault | December 12, 2012 | Reply

  26. HI Evelyn:

    My 94 year old father is visiting me in Montreal and remembering stories from his younger days in military reserve training camp in Farnham ….. A looooong time ago. He and his buddies used to hang out at Martin’s hotel in Farnham. He was thrilled to see a picture of the place on your blog. We will probably go to Farnham in the next couple of days to look around. Do you have any idea if Martin’s hotel is still standing of if it isn’t any idea on where I might find an address for the original site?
    Thanks so much for preserving this history for us.

    Phil

    Comment by Phil Joudrey | October 6, 2016 | Reply


Leave a Reply

