A Canadian Family

Natives, French Canadians, Acadians

Index: Native/First Peoples/Metis Surname Census Extracts

First Peoples Genealogy and History

REGULAR UPDATES

This is part of a larger project to locate surnames carried by Natives, First Peoples and Metis in Eastern Canada. In this series of posts, I list surnames found in various census documents for the eastern provinces of Canada. The companion series –  Native/First Peoples/Metis Surnames of Eastern Canada – Marriage Records contains many of the same surnames as well as others.

New Brunswick

Alnwick  | Mi’kmaq

Restigouche | Mi’kmaq

South Western Kings & Albert | Malecite

South Western I.R. Sunbury & Queens  | Malecite

South Western Division I.R. York | Malecite

Tobique | Malecite

Weldford | Mi’kmaq

Woodstock I.R. | Malecite

 

Nova Scotia

Antigonish I.R.  | Mi’kmaq

Cooks Cove | Mi’kmaq

Douglas & Falmouth I.R.  | Mi’kmaq

Micmac I. R.  | Ojibway

Middle River I.R. | Mi’kmaq

Millbrook I.R. | Mi’kmaq

Pictou I.R.  | Mi’kmaq

Red Islands I.R. | Mi’kmaq

Sable River Village | Mi’kmaq

Sydney I.R.  | Mi’kmaq

Whycocomagh | Mi’kmaq

Yarmouth | Mi’kmaq

 

 Ontario

Bear Creek | Algonquin

Brunswick | Ojibway, Cree

Cape Croker I.R. | Ojibway

Chapleau I.R.  | Ojibway

Chemong I.R. | Ojibway

Chippewa I.R.  | Ojibway

Christian Island | Ojibway

Elk Lake  | Ojibway

Garden River I.R.  | Ojibway

Garden River I.R. (2) | Ojibway

Georgina  | Ojibway

Gore Bay  | Ojibway

Haldimand  (50) | Chippewa – Mohawk

Haldimand I.R. (51) | Oneida

Haldimand (52) | Six Nations

Henvey Inlet | Anishinabek

Lake Savant |Ojibway

Long Lake Post  | Ojibway

Manitowaning | Ojibway

Martin’s Falls | Ojibway

Moose Fort | Cree, Metis

Moraviantown | Delaware

Muncey | Delaware  Lenape

New Post  | Ojibway

Nipigon House Post | Ojibway Chippewa  

Nipissing | Ojibway

Oneida | Iroquois Oneida

Oshwekon | Six Nations – Chippewa

Pic Indian Reserve | Ojibway

Rama Township I.R.  | Ojibway

Renfrew   | Algonquin

Sarnia | Ojibway

Saugeen| Ojibway

Scugog | Mississaugas

Severn Post| Cree

Six Nations I.R. | Tuscarora

Sturgeon Lake | Ojibway

Thessalon  |Census 1911

Tuscarora Brant (27) | Six Nations, Metis

Tuscarora Brant (28)  | Six Nations, Metis

Wabigoon | Ojibway

Walpole Island I.R. | Ojibway

White Dog Post | Ojibway   

 

P.E.I.

Lennox Island  | Mi’kmaq

 

Quebec

Akwesasne St. Regis | Six Nations

Becancourt  | Abenaki

Bersimis   | Innu  Montagnais

Lac Vert | Algonquin, Metis

Lathbury Labelle | Chippewa, Metis

Maniwaki | Anishinabeg | Algonquin

Mann & Restigouche | Census 1901/1911

Maria I.R.   | Mi’kmaq

Michomis | Algonquin  Anishinaabe

Oka  | Iroquois  Mohawk

Pointe Blene | Innu  Montagnais

Pontiac  | Algonquin

Restigouche | Mi’kmaq

Sault-St-Louis (Caughnawaga) | Iroquois Mohawk

Ste. Lucie Terrebonne | Iroquois

Veger  | Malecite Wolastoqiyik

Waswanipi  | Cree

Yamaska  | Abenaki

 

Related Posts

First Peoples Genealogy and History

Index: Native/First Peoples/Metis Surnames | Marriage Extracts

March 29, 2017 - Posted by | . | , , , , , , ,

2 Comments »

  1. Has anyone come across ‘Louise Chartier’ … a Mohawk woman in the Kana-wake tribe … not sure what century. She was my great, great, great grandmother through the Lavoie family tree.

    Like

    Comment by Suzanne D. LaVoie | March 29, 2017 | Reply

  2. Morin line

    Like

    Comment by Dyann Morin | July 21, 2017 | Reply


Leave a Reply

